Rust for audio

Programming applications for making music on Linux.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Basslint
Established Member

Rust for audio

Post by Basslint »

I am currently studying Rust and I like it a lot! I like the syntax, not "beautiful" in any sense but it can easily be picked up by people who know C++ and OCaml, Scala or Haskell; I think that Rust is pretty clean and benefited a lot from not having to be backward compatible with C and older versions of C++ and that it has a lot of potential for audio programming, too, since it is a functional language.

I will continue studying Rust because I think I can learn a lot from it. Aside from that, it often leads to cleaner and safer code - C++ has too much stuff and it's very hard to keep up with it, especially since the old ways (from C++03 and C++11) are sometimes radically different from the new ones and template metaprogramming isn't exactly developer-friendly :lol: Also, five C++ programmers in the same room would have completely different styles, while Rust has pretty good official documentation that sets a common standard.

Anyway, most of those would be good reasons to switch to Rust, except for these things I have heard:
1) The Rust community is a bit like NodeJS' - they use their package manager a lot to provide basic functionalities in small libraries, to the point that a typical program might have dozens of dependencies
2) Many Rust libraries use "unsafe" and this defeats part of the purpose of using Rust
3) Rust has slow compile times (C++ has the same problem, as far as I can remember, also long error messages)