VCVRack modules as LV2 plugins

Programming applications for making music on Linux.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Basslint
Established Member

VCVRack modules as LV2 plugins

Post by Basslint »

VCVRack is free software but it developed its own module API rather than use LV2.

As a consequence of that, there is now a wealth of libre audio plugins which can't be used elsewhere - 173 according to the official VCVRack library [1].

I think it would be great if those could be used in a modular setup built on top of Carla or really, any DAW. What would be the best way to go about it? I have zero experience with VCVRack, I don't even use it as a program, but I'd be curious to hear your take on this: more specifically, on the possibility of writing a "compatibility layer" between the VCVRack API and LV2.

[1]: Output of

Code: Select all

ag -Li proprietary | xargs ag -l license | xargs ag -L -- -N[CD] | wc -l
The community of believers was of one heart and mind, and no one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they had everything in common. [Acts 4:32]

Please donate time (even bug reports) or money to libre software 🎁

Jam on openSUSE + GeekosDAW!
sysrqer
Established Member

Re: VCVRack modules as LV2 plugins

Post by sysrqer »

Where is the 173 number from, is that the number in the manifest on that repo? I'm sure there are a lot, lot more than that. Rack's modules system is perhaps a little confusing, there are plugins which are really suites or collections of modules from a developer, and there are modules which are the individual things you add to a patch. One plugin can have any number of modules. Count Modula plugin has 111 modules alone. I have 2169 modules installed and I think at least half are free/libre.