lv2 midi input

Programming applications for making music on Linux.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

User avatar
skei
Established Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 57 times
Contact:

Re: lv2 midi input

Post by skei »

i looked at the example from here: http://lv2plug.in/book/#_midi_gate
and came up with something like the below.. i don't fully understand what everyting is doing yet, so i absolutely need to look at some docs :-)

but, same result.. works in qtractor, didn't test in ardour, doesn't work in carla..

the little led/light on the plugin in the carla rack view lights up when i press a midi key.. does that mean carla is sending the midi to the plugin?

kode_debug.ttl:

Code: Select all

@prefix doap:		<http://usefulinc.com/ns/doap#> .
@prefix lv2:		<http://lv2plug.in/ns/lv2core#> .
@prefix rdf:		<http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#> .
@prefix rdfs:		<http://www.w3.org/2000/01/rdf-schema#> .
@prefix atom:		<http://lv2plug.in/ns/ext/atom#> .
@prefix midi:		<http://lv2plug.in/ns/ext/midi#> .
@prefix urid:		<http://lv2plug.in/ns/ext/urid#> .

<urn:skei.audio/kode_debug>
	a lv2:Plugin , lv2:InstrumentPlugin ;
	doap:name			"kode_debug" ;
	lv2:optionalFeature	lv2:hardRTCapable ;
	lv2:requiredFeature	urid:map ;
	lv2:port [
		...
		...
	] , [
		a lv2:InputPort , atom:AtomPort ;
		atom:bufferType		atom:Sequence ;
		atom:supports		midi:MidiEvent ;
		lv2:designation		lv2:control ;
		lv2:index			6 ;
		lv2:symbol			"midi_in" ;
		lv2:name			"Midi in"
	] .

Code: Select all

#define KODE_PLUGIN_LV2_MAX_URIS 16

plugin instance class:

	const LV2_Atom_Sequence*	MLV2AtomSequence	= KODE_NULL;
	LV2_URID_Map*				MLV2Map				= KODE_NULL;
	KODE_uint32					MMidiEventType		= 0;
	LV2_URID* 					MLV2URIS			= KODE_NULL;
		
plugin class.

	// for some reason, i thought it could be smart to prepare for multiple uri's..
	LV2_URID	MLV2URIS[KODE_PLUGIN_LV2_MAX_URIS]	= {0};
		
instantiate()

	LV2_URID_Map* map = NULL;
	for (int i=0; features[i]; ++i) {
		if (!strcmp(features[i]->URI, LV2_URID__map)) {
			map = (LV2_URID_Map*)features[i]->data;
			break;
		}
	}
	if (!map) return KODE_NULL;
	MLV2URIS[0] = map->map(map->handle, LV2_MIDI__MidiEvent);
	...
	instance->MLV2URIS = MLV2URIS;    

connect()

	MLV2AtomSequence = (const LV2_Atom_Sequence*)data_location;

run()

	uint32_t offset = 0;
	LV2_ATOM_SEQUENCE_FOREACH(MLV2AtomSequence, ev) {
		if (ev->body.type == MLV2URIS[0]) {
			const uint8_t* const msg = (const uint8_t*)(ev + 1);
			offset = (uint32_t)ev->time.frames;
			on_instance_midiEvent(offset,msg[0],msg[1],msg[2]);
		}
	}
User avatar
skei
Established Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 57 times
Contact:

Re: lv2 midi input

Post by skei »

falkTX wrote:are you trying to send MIDI CCs by any chance?
those are disabled by default.

btw, when plugins have midi input, you can use the built-in keyboard widget to send some notes to the plugin.
test that too, to see if something gets received or not.
no, i'm sending/playing notes..
and, nothing happens if i click on the on-screen keyboard..
it looks like everything is ok on the carla side, but no reaction from my plugin..
so, i just tested with jalv (jalv.select?)..
the plugin loads and everything, but just like carla, nothing is printed out..
(and it looks ok in catia, with a red midi_in port)

maybe that indicates that it's the handling of events insinde my plugin that is the problem?
hmmm...

i just watched a video about the atom stuff, and read some docs, or specs?.. something are a little bit clearer (atom, uri/urid, at least the principles, the 'what' part).. but something are maybe a bit more confusing (the 'how') part)..

it wouldn't hurt if there were more 'how to get started with..' or 'introduction to..' tutorials.. :-)
User avatar
skei
Established Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 57 times
Contact:

Re: lv2 midi input

Post by skei »

i feel so stupid! my connect_port function was buggy! :oops:
after fixing this, i have midi input in carla too!!
sorry for taking up everybody's time with my stupidity!
User avatar
skei
Established Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 57 times
Contact:

Re: lv2 midi input

Post by skei »

yeah.. but at least i got rid of the deprecated stuff.. :)
Post Reply