[SOLVED] C++: which type of cast is best for audio callbacks?

Programming applications for making music on Linux.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

CrocoDuck
Established Member

[SOLVED] C++: which type of cast is best for audio callbacks?

Post by CrocoDuck »

Hi there, I am new to C++ programming, but thanks to this website I made it to the point I can understand how this example works. I see that Harry used C-style casts, for example:

Code: Select all

float* inputBuffer = (float*)jack_port_get_buffer ( inputPort , nframes);
However, after this section, I got used to static_cast and I would write that line as follows:

float *inputBuffer = static_cast<float*>(jack_port_get_buffer(inputPort, nframes));
Seems to me that static_cast does not make run time checks, so I have the feeling it should be faster?

What do you think guys? Is there any reason to prefer a particular kind of cast in a callback?
Last edited by CrocoDuck on Sun Dec 04, 2016 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sadko4u
Established Member

Re: C++: which type of cast is best for audio callbacks?

Post by sadko4u »

I would like to say, for C++ best cast is reinterpret_cast in this case.
LSP (Linux Studio Plugins) Developer and Maintainer.
folderol
Established Member

Post by folderol »

Static cast seems reasonable, but I'll watch to see who comes along with more explanation.
The Yoshimi guy {apparently now an 'elderly'}
sadko4u
Established Member

Post by sadko4u »

folderol wrote:Static cast seems reasonable, but I'll watch to see who comes along with more explanation.
Here's some explanation:
Unlike static_cast, but like const_cast, the reinterpret_cast expression does not compile to any CPU instructions. It is purely a compiler directive which instructs the compiler to treat the sequence of bits (object representation) of expression as if it had the type new_type.
So by using reinterpret_cast, you say to compiler: "This pointer really points to beginning of array of float".