work flow - a how to question

Practical tips for recording, editing, and mastering.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

episteme
Established Member

work flow - a how to question

Post by episteme »

Hello,

I am kind of new to all the open source Tools available for creative audio creation, although I am familiar with Linux on servers.

I stumbled across this video for scoring music to an animation and I am wondering whether this specific work flow can be duplicated 100% with open source? Maybe using Linuxsampler and Aria Maestosa? Do these applications support time code sync? I just don't quite know enough about using them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Ayswac ... e=youtu.be

thanks and looking forward to learning more about this amazing world of open source audio tools!
Michael Willis
Established Member

Re: work flow - a how to question

Post by Michael Willis »

I wasn't aware of Aria Maestosa, but it might work. I know that Ardour's feature list specifically mentions video sync, so you could try that. Linuxsampler will certainly work for converting the midi channels to audio, although proper use of Linuxsampler isn't exactly straightforward. If you're wanting to do orchestral tracks, you can try these collections of orchestral samples:

https://nbo.libreorchestra.net/
http://vis.versilstudios.net/vsco-community.html
http://virtualplaying.com/virtual-playing-orchestra/

I use Virtual Playing Orchestra, which actually includes samples from the other two, as well as samples from ye olde Sonatina Symphonic Orchestra and others with a heavy dose of audio processing to get everything to sound like it belongs in the same space.
episteme
Established Member

Post by episteme »

Thanks for the pointers. I'll have to check out those libraries.

I tried toinstall Aria Maestosa and encountered some failures.

First, using the kxstudio apt-get method - I encountered an unmet dependenancy-

Code: Select all