EQ recommendations and advice

Practical tips for recording, editing, and mastering.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

aeb105
Established Member

EQ recommendations and advice

Post by aeb105 »

Looking for it..... I am a blues musician going back and trying to learn how to eq these tracks. Want to effectively separate and mix vocals, bass, drums and rhythym lead guitar. I have the ear thing down just don't understand much how to eq. Which plugins are the best for Ardour. And should I only use them to separate bass and drums?
aprzekaz
Established Member

Re: EQ recommendations and advice

Post by aprzekaz »

I find that the Calf Equalizer (8 or 10 band I think) in LV2 format works well for me because of the GUI. You can create notches or peaks and roll them back and forth to see what sounds best in your mix and then round them out and go from there. This is good for separating things or bringing out desirable frequencies. I also use the TAP equalizer quite a bit. Ardour 3 gives you a graphical representation of any plugin now with the plugin analysis option. I'm not sure if you have everything on separate tracks or not so that will be a factor. Compression can help too. Maybe a multiband compressor if you are working with one master track.
Ricardus
Established Member

Post by Ricardus »

LV2fil from Fons/Nedko is fantastic. The only thing that would make it better would be if it had high-pass and low-pass filters. Otherwise, I use it all the time. If you're looking for other choices the LinuxDSP EQs are fantastic. They make it onto every mix I do.
Mastering/Mix Engineer
Available for hire
aeb105
Established Member

Post by aeb105 »