Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
tc1384
Established Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:02 pm

Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by tc1384 »

Cadence has worked great for years but yesterday when I started cadence, all settings were greyed out.
I have made no changes to the system [ archlinux] other than apply updates.

I've tried:

Code: Select all

cadence-session-start --maybe-system-start
JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login
Tried:

Code: Select all

cadence-session-start -s
JACK Started Successfully

ps ax | grep [j]ack
  28839 ?        SLsl   0:00 /usr/bin/jackdbus auto
But cadence screen is still greyed out.
cadence-screen-01.png
cadence-screen-01.png (70.26 KiB) Viewed 12636 times
Any ideas?
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by merlyn »

That's telling you jackdbus isn't available. On Arch jack2 and jack2dbus have been split up, re-combined, split up again ... how the two are packaged has changed more than once while I've been using Arch.

First thing -- do you have jackdbus installed?

Code: Select all

$ pacman -Q|grep jack
tc1384
Established Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:02 pm

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by tc1384 »

jack2-dbus is installed

Code: Select all

pacman -Q|grep jack
	jack-keyboard 2.7.2-1
	jack-rack 1.4.7-6
	jack2 1.9.18-1
	jack2-dbus 1.9.18-1
	jack_capture 0.9.73-8
	lib32-jack2 1.9.18-1
	libflashsupport-jack 20110801-1
	pulseaudio-jack 14.2-3
	qjackctl 0.9.3-1
tc1384
Established Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:02 pm

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by tc1384 »

Tried resetting configs and starting jackdbus

Code: Select all

cadence-session-start --reset

jack_control start

$ cadence
Using Tray Engine 'Qt'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/cadence/src/cadence.py", line 1779, in slot_A2JBridgeExportHW
    a2jWasStarted = bool(gDBus.a2j.is_started())
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'is_started'
/usr/bin/python3 /usr/share/cadence/src/logs.py &
From jackdbus.log:

Code: Select all

Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: ------------------
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: Controller activated. Version 1.9.18 (0+5041ab0fe7fb719efa5122386d355397289a91f0-dirty) built on Fri Apr 16 04:36:44 2021
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: Loading settings from "/home/tc1384/.config/jack/conf.xml" using expat_2.4.1 ...
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: ERROR: failed to stat "/home/tc1384/.config/jack/conf.xml", error is 2 (No such file or directory)
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: ERROR: open() failed to open conf filename.
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: Listening for D-Bus messages
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: Starting jack server...
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: JACK server starting in realtime mode with priority 10
Sun Jun 27 16:27:28 2021: self-connect-mode is "Don't restrict self connect requests"
Sun Jun 27 16:27:29 2021: graph reorder: new port 'system:capture_1'
Sun Jun 27 16:27:29 2021: New client 'system' with PID 0
Sun Jun 27 16:27:29 2021: graph reorder: new port 'system:capture_2'
Sun Jun 27 16:27:29 2021: graph reorder: new port 'system:playback_1'
Sun Jun 27 16:27:29 2021: graph reorder: new port 'system:playback_2'
tc1384
Established Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:02 pm

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by tc1384 »

Ok - I've gotten jack to load and work, however Cadence is still Grayed Out and not configurable.

my ~/.xinitrc starts Cadence

Code: Select all

cadence-session-start --maybe-system-start &
~/.config/jack/config

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!--
JACK settings, as persisted by D-Bus object.
You probably don't want to edit this because
it will be overwritten next time jackdbus saves.
-->
<!-- Sun Jun 27 21:01:57 2021 -->
<jack>
 <engine>
  <option name="driver">firewire</option>
 </engine>
 <drivers>
  <driver name="loopback">
  </driver>
  <driver name="net">
  </driver>
  <driver name="alsa">
   <option name="device">hw:PCH,0</option>
  </driver>
  <driver name="alsarawmidi">
  </driver>
  <driver name="proxy">
  </driver>
  <driver name="dummy">
  </driver>
  <driver name="firewire">
   <option name="device">hw:0</option>
  </driver>
  <driver name="netone">
  </driver>
 </drivers>
 <internals>
  <internal name="netadapter">
  </internal>
  <internal name="netmanager">
  </internal>
  <internal name="profiler">
  </internal>
  <internal name="audioadapter">
  </internal>
 </internals>
</jack>
~/.asoundrc

Code: Select all

# ------------------------------------------------------
# Custom asoundrc file for use with snd-aloop and JACK
#
# use it like this:
# env JACK_SAMPLE_RATE=48000 JACK_PERIOD_SIZE=1024 alsa_in (...)
#

# ------------------------------------------------------
# playback device
pcm.aloopPlayback {
  type dmix
  ipc_key 1
  ipc_key_add_uid true
  slave {
    pcm "hw:Loopback,0,0"
    format S32_LE
    rate {
      @func igetenv
      vars [ JACK_SAMPLE_RATE ]
      default 48000
    }
    period_size {
      @func igetenv
      vars [ JACK_PERIOD_SIZE ]
      default 1024
    }
    buffer_size 4096
  }
}

# capture device
pcm.aloopCapture {
  type dsnoop
  ipc_key 2
  ipc_key_add_uid true
  slave {
    pcm "hw:Loopback,0,1"
    format S32_LE
    rate {
      @func igetenv
      vars [ JACK_SAMPLE_RATE ]
      default 48000
    }
    period_size {
      @func igetenv
      vars [ JACK_PERIOD_SIZE ]
      default 1024
    }
    buffer_size 4096
  }
}

# duplex device
pcm.aloopDuplex {
  type asym
  playback.pcm "aloopPlayback"
  capture.pcm "aloopCapture"
}

# ------------------------------------------------------
# default device
pcm.!default {
  type plug
  slave.pcm "aloopDuplex"
}

# ------------------------------------------------------
# alsa_in -j alsa_in -dcloop -q 1
pcm.cloop {
  type dsnoop
  ipc_key 3
  ipc_key_add_uid true
  slave {
    pcm "hw:Loopback,1,0"
    channels 2
    format S32_LE
    rate {
      @func igetenv
      vars [ JACK_SAMPLE_RATE ]
      default 48000
    }
    period_size {
      @func igetenv
      vars [ JACK_PERIOD_SIZE ]
      default 1024
    }
    buffer_size 32768
  }
}

# ------------------------------------------------------
# alsa_out -j alsa_out -dploop -q 1
pcm.ploop {
  type plug
  slave.pcm "hw:Loopback,1,1"
}
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by merlyn »

I used Cadence in the past. If there was a problem cadence-session-start --reset usually fixed it. I also deleted the config file at times.

You could try commenting out the .xinitrc entry and just type 'cadence' into a terminal.
tc1384
Established Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:02 pm

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by tc1384 »

Hi merlyn.

I have tried both of your suggestion and it does not resolve the Grayed out issue.

I created a test account and cadence work fine under it, so there is something under my user account that is messed up.
I've tried:
deleting ~/.config/Cadence
deleting ~/.config/jack
deleting ~/.config/.asound
deleting ~/.config/falkTX

As stated above I have cadence running and the sound is working but everything under cadence is grayed out and I am unable to reconfigure it, which is needed since I use both alsa and firewire.

Thanks for your suggestions.
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by merlyn »

Strange. Have you tried re-installing Cadence?

Is Cadence somehow running as root? That would explain why jackdbus is running but Cadence can't see it.

Is your user in the realtime group? I wouldn't have thought that would grey out Cadence but it does seem to be something related to your user account.
tc1384
Established Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:02 pm

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by tc1384 »

I have not tried reinstalling cadence.
I know that it is related to the user account because I created a test account and it runs fine under it.
I have tried removing the following and allowing jack and cadence to recreate them:

Code: Select all

~/.config/Cadence
~/.config/jack
~/.config/falkTX
~/.asoundrc
I don't see how cadence could be running as root. It is being launched from ~/.xinitrc

Code: Select all

cadence-session-start --maybe-system-start &
My user is in the audio & realtime groups.
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by merlyn »

You could try cadence-git from the AUR :

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/cadence-git/
tc1384
Established Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:02 pm

RESOLVED: Cadence: JACK is set to NOT auto-start on login

Post by tc1384 »

Cadence as suddenly decided to work.
The screen is no longer grayed out and I can make changes to the configuration.

I have no idea what made it start working.
All I've done to my system is install 2 packages and apply updates and I really don't think that had anything to do with it. I still believe it was a user account issue.

The packages I installed were a couple of python packages:

Code: Select all

python-pyxdg-0.27-1  
speech-dispatcher-0.10.2-1
Post Reply