Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by khz »

One more ~questions:
1.) There are no @audio entries in the limits.conf. Can I add them later? <EDIT><-- Is available in the "/etc/security/limits.d directory. Had I missed that. ;-)</EDIT>
(2.) Why use qjackct only with jackd when jackdmp (mp == multiprocessor?) is also available? <-- Jackdmp was an experimental version of JACK.
Its functionalities have been integrated into JACK2. http://linuxmao.org/jackdmp)

Robin Cherry wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:17 pm
I just wanted to say how much I'm liking the new distribution. Really smooth and bang up to date.
+ 1
FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
  • I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

rohitverma1
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:55 am

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by rohitverma1 »

pledge wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:58 pm
rohitverma1 wrote:
Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:39 am


Since you wish to keep windows installation intact, DO NOT try to format EFI as you will loose the ability to boot the current windows installation. Instead, select /boot/efi mount point and "UNCHECK" the format option and finalize the changes for efi partition. This will ensure that grub will catch the windows bootloader and add an entry for it in the boot menu.
Thank you - that worked, your suggestion resulted in an installation that copied all files to the designated partitions.
What is a little bit inconvinient is, that my EFI does't recognize GRUB2 as a possible starting system I can choose. So my workflow for starting AVL is interrupting the normal boot sequence and navigate in EFI in a folder menu in several steps until I find GRUB2 to start AVL.
Since there's no boot entry for AVLinux in the system efi boot meny, you have to do what you are doing right now to boot it.
I suggest that you make an efi entry in the system bootloader manually. Since you said that you select grub2.efi file to boot into AVLinux, it will be very easy to set this up. Efibootmgr is a low level and a very powerful tool. So before attempting anything, read the whole thing and then use it with caution. :)

Do everything given below in root terminal :-
1. First add the efi entry using efibootmgr. See the link below. Read the whole article to understand how this tool works. then focus on the "adding boot entry" section. Since grub is already installed, you do not have to install it again. Just use the last command in the section carefully. Only that command is needed in your case. Before filling the information, checking the drive and partition number. Put "AVLinux 2020" for label to identify it in the boot menu. Type the EFI\ structure address for grub2.efi correctly. Wrong entries may damage your boot or data or just create a useless entry(which can be easily removed. see the link below).
2. Change the order of the boot entries using efibootmgr by pulling up the grub2 efi entry on the top and putting windows entry after it. info given in the article below.
If all succeed without any problem, This problem will not disturb you again :D
See this guide. :)

rohitverma1
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:55 am

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by rohitverma1 »

GMaq wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:36 am
rohitverma1 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:29 pm
Hi,

Somehow EQ10Q neither mono nor stereo GUI is opening. I have tried to change the project, on a newly created track, on a previously already working track but GUI just doesn't open. I am confused as what could be the problem. I recently Dist-Upgrade (after this problem) and problem persists.
For now, i'm working with a-EQ which is good in its own right. :)
Also, mpv freezes when open large files. Maybe it is not able to buffer on-the-fly. Could be because of transparent_hugepage=never ? This has not happened before.
Any kind of help is appreciated :)
Hi, first thanks very much for posting the NVMe info!

EQ10Q has a long history of having it's UI break because it has a toolkit based (GTK) UI, if EQ10 is built with the same GTK libs in Ardour then it will work, if there is a mismatch then it may break.. This is why many big plugin projects (LSP, Guitarix, x42) are already using or migrating to X11 UI's, desktop toolkits (GTK,QT) are not a good solution. Both EQ10Q and the Ardour 5.12 packaged in AV Linux originate from the KXStudio repositories so I don't maintain them directly. The problem is you may get EQ10 to work and then upgrade to Ardour 6 and it breaks again. I would recommend the x42 parametric EQ or the LSP multiband EQ's as alternatives. If you want to report the UI bug to falkTX the maintainer of the KXStudio repos you can report here:

https://github.com/KXStudio/Repository/issues
Hi GMaq,

After some digging i found that eq10q GUI is not working in ardour if it is compiled from source or installed from synaptic as ardour uses different gcc for compilation than eq10q. Weirdly, It opens in carla just fine. The recommended method to set up eq10q is to use pre-compiled binaries. They do not crash and opens fine. :)
Steps followed :-
1. Uninstall eq10q from synaptic package manager.
2. Download eq10q install script. run in root terminal.
3. Select gcc5 if installer asks for gcc version.
4. It will install eq10q which will work in ardour. It will also work in carla just fine.

Ardour discourse issue thread for this. here and eq10q official notice regarding the same is here.

The ISO is working fine. But if you are planning to release another version soon with any critical fixes, kindly uninstall eq10q from synaptic and install pre-compiled binaries as they work fine (and maybe blacklist eq10q in synaptic ?). Also upgrade Hydrogen :D

pledge
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by pledge »

rohitverma1 wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:16 pm
pledge wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:58 pm
rohitverma1 wrote:
Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:39 am


Since you wish to keep windows installation intact, DO NOT try to format EFI as you will loose the ability to boot the current windows installation. Instead, select /boot/efi mount point and "UNCHECK" the format option and finalize the changes for efi partition. This will ensure that grub will catch the windows bootloader and add an entry for it in the boot menu.
Thank you - that worked, your suggestion resulted in an installation that copied all files to the designated partitions.
What is a little bit inconvinient is, that my EFI does't recognize GRUB2 as a possible starting system I can choose. So my workflow for starting AVL is interrupting the normal boot sequence and navigate in EFI in a folder menu in several steps until I find GRUB2 to start AVL.
Since there's no boot entry for AVLinux in the system efi boot meny, you have to do what you are doing right now to boot it.
I suggest that you make an efi entry in the system bootloader manually. Since you said that you select grub2.efi file to boot into AVLinux, it will be very easy to set this up. Efibootmgr is a low level and a very powerful tool. So before attempting anything, read the whole thing and then use it with caution. :)

Do everything given below in root terminal :-
1. First add the efi entry using efibootmgr. See the link below. Read the whole article to understand how this tool works. then focus on the "adding boot entry" section. Since grub is already installed, you do not have to install it again. Just use the last command in the section carefully. Only that command is needed in your case. Before filling the information, checking the drive and partition number. Put "AVLinux 2020" for label to identify it in the boot menu. Type the EFI\ structure address for grub2.efi correctly. Wrong entries may damage your boot or data or just create a useless entry(which can be easily removed. see the link below).
2. Change the order of the boot entries using efibootmgr by pulling up the grub2 efi entry on the top and putting windows entry after it. info given in the article below.
If all succeed without any problem, This problem will not disturb you again :D
See this guide. :)
I think I understood: As I already have Grub2 installed, I have to make a commend similar to "efibootmgr -c -d /dev/sda -p 7 -L <label> -l \EFI\<label>\grubx64.efi".
But I have the problem, that according to Synaptic the efibootmgr is installed in version 15-1, but if I run efibootmgr in the normal terminal as well in the root terminal, I only get the answer "EFI variables are not supported on this system". Therefore I can not execute any comand. :(

pledge
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by pledge »

pledge wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:45 am
rohitverma1 wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:16 pm
pledge wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:58 pm


Thank you - that worked, your suggestion resulted in an installation that copied all files to the designated partitions.
What is a little bit inconvinient is, that my EFI does't recognize GRUB2 as a possible starting system I can choose. So my workflow for starting AVL is interrupting the normal boot sequence and navigate in EFI in a folder menu in several steps until I find GRUB2 to start AVL.
Since there's no boot entry for AVLinux in the system efi boot meny, you have to do what you are doing right now to boot it.
I suggest that you make an efi entry in the system bootloader manually. Since you said that you select grub2.efi file to boot into AVLinux, it will be very easy to set this up. Efibootmgr is a low level and a very powerful tool. So before attempting anything, read the whole thing and then use it with caution. :)

Do everything given below in root terminal :-
1. First add the efi entry using efibootmgr. See the link below. Read the whole article to understand how this tool works. then focus on the "adding boot entry" section. Since grub is already installed, you do not have to install it again. Just use the last command in the section carefully. Only that command is needed in your case. Before filling the information, checking the drive and partition number. Put "AVLinux 2020" for label to identify it in the boot menu. Type the EFI\ structure address for grub2.efi correctly. Wrong entries may damage your boot or data or just create a useless entry(which can be easily removed. see the link below).
2. Change the order of the boot entries using efibootmgr by pulling up the grub2 efi entry on the top and putting windows entry after it. info given in the article below.
If all succeed without any problem, This problem will not disturb you again :D
See this guide. :)
I think I understood: As I already have Grub2 installed, I have to make a commend similar to "efibootmgr -c -d /dev/sda -p 7 -L <label> -l \EFI\<label>\grubx64.efi".
But I have the problem, that according to Synaptic the efibootmgr is installed in version 15-1, but if I run efibootmgr in the normal terminal as well in the root terminal, I only get the answer "EFI variables are not supported on this system". Therefore I can not execute any comand. :(
Solved! I used the tool bootice from Windows as an alternative - that worked. Thanks again for your help!

anahata
Established Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:39 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues - RT kernel and virtualbox

Post by anahata »

I think I've found a problem with the RT kernel and Virtualbox.
If I install Virtualbox in AV Linux (virtualbox-6.1 installed by aptitude) , the RT kernel does not boot reliably, instead crashing with an assortment of errors, different each time. It seems to be related to a driver installed by Virtualbox.
The low-latency kernel boots fine and Virtualbox works perfectly.
If I remove Virtualbox, the RT kernel boots and everything works perfectly.

Hardware is AMD Ryzen 5 3600 on an MSI X470 motherboard.
I have set SVM mode in BIOS, a requirement for virtualisation to work properly, and not set by default on this BIOS.

It's not a show-stopper for me, because my hardware gets good audio latency on the low latency kernel so I shall keep that as the default.

Something for Trulan to look at? Or a setting I've missed?

User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by GMaq »

@rohitverma1

Thanks very much for the in depth help with GRUB and booting issues, I don't have much experience with that stuff so your information has been very helpful! Also in the future I will use the binaries from EQ10Q's website and integrate them in the 'avlinux-extra-plugins' package.

@anahata

In my experience Virtualbox has had a cranky relationship with RT Kernels for a few years now and currently for me the host modules for VBox 6.1 don't currently build with our 5.4.28-RT Kernel. I kinda consider that a favor because it makes people move to a non-RT Kernel which is much more stable when it comes to hosting VM's. My host machine that I build AVL on had numerous freezes and lockups when running VM's on an RT Kernel and with the lowlatency Kernel it is super solid. I don't know if it's the RT patch or Virtualbox who is at fault but I would guess the 2 projects are barely aware of each other. For me even the Guest Additions modules are pretty flaky and spew loads of "preempt" boot warnings with the RT Kernel so I will most like be moving AVL to a default lowlatency Kernel in the future to keep my VM's stable and then offer the RT as a post-install option for those who want to see if it improves their latency performance.

User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by GMaq »

To anyone who has installed AV Linux 2020 some of the issues in this thread and another one reported elsewhere have been summarized in this blog post: http://www.bandshed.net/2020/04/27/av-l ... wn-issues/

varpa
Established Member
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:40 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by varpa »

Thanks for documenting some issues with AV Linux 2020.4.10. Any chance of updating the ISO with a fix not to make a redundant install on /lib/live/mount? Or is there a way to avoid creating /lib/live/mount when doing an install? If I can avoid this install I can install to a smaller partition.
Also, a tried to install the avlinux-assistant_12.0-buster1-3_all.deb with "dpkg -i" and it said there was a missing dependency on winetricks.
So I installed winetricks with synaptic which fixed the problem. Is there a better way to install this deb?
Thanks for all the great work.

User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by GMaq »

varpa wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:23 pm
Thanks for documenting some issues with AV Linux 2020.4.10. Any chance of updating the ISO with a fix not to make a redundant install on /lib/live/mount? Or is there a way to avoid creating /lib/live/mount when doing an install? If I can avoid this install I can install to a smaller partition.
Also, a tried to install the avlinux-assistant_12.0-buster1-3_all.deb with "dpkg -i" and it said there was a missing dependency on winetricks.
So I installed winetricks with synaptic which fixed the problem. Is there a better way to install this deb?
Thanks for all the great work.
Hi varpa,

I'm pondering what I can do to fix the issue and I may reach out the the guy who made the forked SB version but it seems he just did it for his own use and has no interest in maintaining it: https://francoconidi.it/systemback-1-9- ... -10-18-04/

dpkg does not install or satisfy additional dependencies so I suggest using Gdebi which will automatically pull in Winetricks as long as you've recently refreshed your packages lists..

anahata
Established Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:39 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by anahata »

GMaq wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:37 pm
My host machine that I build AVL on had numerous freezes and lockups when running VM's on an RT Kernel and with the lowlatency Kernel it is super solid. I don't know if it's the RT patch or Virtualbox who is at fault
Thanks Glen. "Super solid" will do nicely for me, and as I have reported in the Ardour forum, I'm getting good audio latency with the low-latency kernel on my hardware, so I'll happily stay with that.

pledge
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by pledge »

pledge wrote:
Sat Apr 18, 2020 7:42 pm
Hi,

I have a question due to the WLAN Module Intel ax 200. And sorry, if my question seems to be stupid - I'm not a OS-Specialist.

In generally my WLAD should be supported in Linux if the kernel is 5.1 or higher (https://www.intel.de/content/www/de/de/ ... rking.html).

But in the test with the Live-System from USB the wifi Intel ax 200 does not work, only some older Wifi-USB-Stick.
But the kernel of the live System seems to be 5.4, if I understood this correctly. Therefore it should work theoretically.

Then I read that the kernel is somehow custom built - if I understood correctly.

So my questions: :?:
1. Is this the reason why the AX 200 doesn't work and
2. does this mean, that even after installation of AV Linux on my HD and getting all updates, my WLAN Module Intel ax 200 still won't work?
3. If this is the case, are there as well security updates, that usually come with new kernels and as well won't reach the kernel of AV Linux in a timely manner?

Thank you!
Hi, the solution is that you have to download a firmwarefile called "iwlwifi-cc-a0-46.ucode" from intel's homepage under https://www.intel.de/content/www/de/de/ ... rking.html. This file you have to put in the folder "/lib/firmware" and after reboot the Wifi works well all the time :D .

As the firmware is responsible for bluetooth as well, this theoretically should work as well.

Question: in my case bluetooth only works, if I make a restart from Windows 10 into AVL. If I start normally AVL, bluetooth does not work.
As well, If I do have bluetooth working in AVL and than go into Standby mode (I hope I translated "Bereitschaft" correctly - it's the left button in the second row in the power down menu that appears, if you hit the green on/off button) and wake up from standby, bluetooth is gone as well.
If I perform "dmesg | grep -i bluetooth" I get:

Code: Select all

[    3.592930 Bluetooth: Core ver 2.22
[    3.593359] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[    3.593364] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[    3.593367] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[    3.593374] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[    3.713553] Bluetooth: hci0: Firmware revision 0.0 build 186 week 6 2020
[    5.088714] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emulation) ver 1.3
[    5.088717] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
[    5.088723] Bluetooth: BNEP socket layer initialized
[   10.630602] Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
[   10.630624] Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
[   10.630630] Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.11
[   23.987778] Bluetooth: HIDP (Human Interface Emulation) ver 1.2
[   23.987783] Bluetooth: HIDP socket layer initialized
[   23.988134] input: Bluetooth Mouse as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.0/usb1/1-10/1-10:1.0/bluetooth/hci0/hci0:256/0005:1131:1616.0002/input/input31
[   23.988219] hid-generic 0005:1131:1616.0002: input,hidraw1: BLUETOOTH HID v4.10 Mouse [Bluetooth Mouse] on d0:ab:d5:1a:94:c8
[   45.481748] Bluetooth: hci0: Bootloader revision 0.3 build 0 week 24 2017
[   45.482725] Bluetooth: hci0: Device revision is 1
[   45.482726] Bluetooth: hci0: Secure boot is enabled
[   45.482727] Bluetooth: hci0: OTP lock is enabled
[   45.482727] Bluetooth: hci0: API lock is enabled
[   45.482728] Bluetooth: hci0: Debug lock is disabled
[   45.482728] Bluetooth: hci0: Minimum firmware build 1 week 10 2014
[   45.484966] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for intel/ibt-20-1-3.sfi failed with error -2
[   45.484982] Bluetooth: hci0: Failed to load Intel firmware file (-2)
I have the impression, that after standby mode, the system uses the old firmware insteand the new one. Does anybody know what might be the problem and how to fix this? Can I tell, that after start or going back from standby the right firmware has to be loaded? Or I just delete the old one in order to hope, that the the correct one is loaded?

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by khz »

Is that
pledge wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 8:46 am
Hi, the solution is that you have to download a firmwarefile called "iwlwifi-cc-a0-46.ucode" from intel's homepage under https://www.intel.de/content/www/de/de/ ... rking.html.
the same driver as that one https://packages.debian.org/buster/firmware-iwlwifi? Then I would better install via the package manager.

# Meta: You have installed the unfree drivers (AMD/Nvidia( && RT~?)/WIFI/...) and the Processor microcode? If not then install as needed.
If "dmesg" something indicates, then install the missing packages.

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep failed
Example "dmesg" output "firmware: failed to load rtl_nic/rtl8168g-2.fw": Search with https://www.startpage.com/ / https://searx.me/ (or Google) after it. Or "apt search rtl_nic/rtl8168g-2.fw" >> "apt-get install firmware-realtek"
FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
  • I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

anahata
Established Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:39 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by anahata »

GMaq wrote:
Sat Apr 11, 2020 2:43 pm
remember with AV Linux you can install the lowlatency Kernel and install 3rd party Video drivers with SGFXI..
Cautionary tale:
After two AV Linux reinstalls following botched attempts at installing Nvidia drivers by downloading direct from Nvidia and then by using the Debian nvidia-driver package, I spotted the above and discovered sgfxi is already installed on my AVLinux system, and it has completed the Nvidia driver install in a couple of minutes without a hitch.
Then I read the AVLinux manual and found that SGFXI is perfectly clearly described and documented... Moral of the story: RTFM!

And thanks, Glen, for at least attempting to make life easier with your excellent manual. If only I'd read it first...

Now happily playing 50fps YouTube videos on a 2k monitor though a GT1030 fanless graphics card, with no video lag.

pledge
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Thread for AV Linux 2020.4.10 Issues

Post by pledge »

khz wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 9:18 am
Is that
pledge wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 8:46 am
Hi, the solution is that you have to download a firmwarefile called "iwlwifi-cc-a0-46.ucode" from intel's homepage under https://www.intel.de/content/www/de/de/ ... rking.html.
the same driver as that one https://packages.debian.org/buster/firmware-iwlwifi? Then I would better install via the package manager.

# Meta: You have installed the unfree drivers (AMD/Nvidia( && RT~?)/WIFI/...) and the Processor microcode? If not then install as needed.
If "dmesg" something indicates, then install the missing packages.

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep failed
Example "dmesg" output "firmware: failed to load rtl_nic/rtl8168g-2.fw": Search with https://www.startpage.com/ / https://searx.me/ (or Google) after it. Or "apt search rtl_nic/rtl8168g-2.fw" >> "apt-get install firmware-realtek"
Thank you.
So if I do the

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep failed
, I get:

Code: Select all

[    2.488713] button: module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel
[    3.810372] bluetooth hci0: Direct Firmware load for intel/ibt-20-1-3.sfi failed with error -2
[    3.814109] platform regulatory.0: Direct firmware load for regulatory.db failed with error -2
[    3.814111] cfg80211: failed to load regulatory.db
[    3.875933] iwlwifi 0000:40:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-cc-a0-50.ucode failed with error -2
[    3.875940] iwlwifi 0000:40:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-cc-a0-49.ucode failed with error -2
[    3.875945] iwlwifi 0000:40:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-cc-a0-48.ucode failed with error -2
[    3.875949] iwlwifi 0000:40:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-cc-a0-47.ucode failed with error -2
[    4.206306] thermal thermal_zone1: failed to read out thermal zone (-61)
Luckily I can restart from WIndows, which gives the result, that the bluetooth is working. This means I can make the comand "dmesg | grep failed" with working bluetooth after restarting AVL from Windows and compare the outcome of the
comand with a restart from AVL, when Bluetooth is not working.
As result of dmesg | grep failed I have in general several missing drivers, that I haven't known until now, but especially for the Bluetooth it's
"[ 3.810372] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for intel/ibt-20-1-3.sfi failed with error -2"

Nevertheless, the firmware-iwlwifi is already installed in this AVL-Version, so that's not the problem. The problem seems to be, that the driver only uses/ finds the correct firmware, after I restart from Windows.
Does anybody know how to fix this?

Post Reply