Ubuntu studio vs Kubuntu (+kxstudio repos). Advantages and disadvantages?

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

klooter

Ubuntu studio vs Kubuntu (+kxstudio repos). Advantages and disadvantages?

Post by klooter »

Hi Everyone,
I am about to install a new distro to setup with Reaper. I was initially planning on installing kubuntu, but I wanted to check in if there are major advantages or disadvantages compared with ubuntu studio that I should be aware of. I'm just a beginner in with linux audio.

Thanks!

Edit: I realise that this should be Ubuntustudio compared with kubuntu and the kxstudio repos.
Michael Willis
Established Member

Re: Ubuntu studio vs Kubuntu (+kxstudio repos). Advantages and disadvantages?

Post by Michael Willis »

If you're comfortable using the command line and customizing your distro, I would recommend picking a distro that you like and then adapting it for real-time audio. Although the steps may seem esoteric the first time you do it, there aren't really that many adjustments that you have to make. There are plenty of people here who will answer your questions along the way.

So if you like kubuntu, give it a try and see how it goes.
klooter

Post by klooter »

Thanks for that Michael. So I guess that leads me to the question of what are the advantages or disadvantages of the different ways of setting up for real time audio. From my quick look around it seems like there are 2 automated ways of setting up (ubuntu studio control panel + ubuntustudio-lowlatency-settings ; or kxstudio's Cadence and kxstudio-default-settings ), or doing it manually (I found this page to have a list of suggestions: wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/system_configuration ).
Do those two automated alternatives do the same thing? And then is there any major difference between them?

Thanks again!
Michael Willis
Established Member

Post by Michael Willis »