Beginner help needed for KXStudio on laptop

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

boscaiolo

Beginner help needed for KXStudio on laptop

Post by boscaiolo »

I am a bit out of my depth here, being neither a musician nor a computer science graduate,
so apologies in advance. I have 20 years of experience with Linux (RedHat, SuSE, Debian,
Gentoo, Arch,...) so I am familiar with configuration files, but I lack knowledge of what
the component parts of audio processing do, so need some help with the following.

My wife has an HP probook laptop. She wants to connect to her Yamaha electric piano and
to learn what the range of tools for music creation and processing can do. I installed the
KXStudio distribution for her, and also tried adding KXS repos to her Ubuntu-16 system and
upgrading to a recent low-latency kernel. In both cases, we lost all sound output. A lot
of searching produced many "magic formulae" but, of course, the net is stuffed with
explanations of how to solve problems through the GUI by people who do not say even which
WM they are using. Nowhere did I find a clear overview of what each software component
does, what input it receives in what format, and what output it sends where and why.
So we were working in the dark. Eventually, I discovered we needed to alter the
settings of QJackCtl to point input and output to the Intel HD Audio card. This provided
duplex communication to the electric piano connected via USB. We thought we had the
solution.

We then found that ordinary applications no longer could output sound -- I mean the
web browsers etc. (we tried chromium and firefox). I spent a couple more days of
experiments and websearching, including eventually removing the battery and resetting
the BIOS. Nothing seemed to help. So I added a third distro, kubuntu17, adding in also the
KXS repos, and the latest low-latency kernel (4.13.0-32). With this install, with ALSA but no