(Solved) QSynth and loading soundfonts

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
User avatar
Chipfryer
Established Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:43 pm

(Solved) QSynth and loading soundfonts

Post by Chipfryer »

After much deliberation and searching online this Sunday morning, I am lost. :?

I have QSynth / Qjacktl / Rosegarden all working just fine, not a problem at all apart from some lockups which happens with all software.
I downloaded and installed a new soundfont into:
/usr/share/sounds/sf2

Brought that into Qsynth on a seperate Engine, and the main Piano plays in it's place.
I played around with bank offets, but I really lost with this now...... :shock:

12:19:26.216 Qsynth2: Loading soundfont: "/usr/share/sounds/sf2/Guitar18Mando16_ejl.sf2" (bank offset 3)...
12:19:26.217 Qsynth2: Creating audio driver (jack)...
12:19:26.257 Qsynth2: Creating MIDI router (alsa_seq)...
12:19:26.257 Qsynth2: Creating MIDI driver (alsa_seq)...
12:19:26.257 Qsynth2: Creating MIDI player...
12:19:26.259 Qsynth2: Synthesizer engine started.
12:19:26.259 Qsynth2: fluid_synth_set_gain(1)
12:19:26.259 Qsynth2: fluid_synth_set_reverb(0.2,0,1,0.9)
12:19:26.259 Qsynth2: fluid_synth_set_chorus(3,1,0.3,8,0)
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 0 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 1 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 2 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 3 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 4 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 5 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 6 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 7 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 8 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 9 [bank=128 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 10 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 11 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 12 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 13 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 14 [bank=0 prog=0]

fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 15 [bank=0 prog=0]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 1 [bank=0 prog=15]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 15 [bank=0 prog=15]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 1 [bank=0 prog=15]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 15 [bank=0 prog=15]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 1 [bank=0 prog=15]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 15 [bank=0 prog=15]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 1 [bank=0 prog=15]
fluidsynth: warning: No preset found on channel 15 [bank=0 prog=15]

I have not found this error too often in searches so I am assuming that this is a local problem?

Another bug bear is that I have a M-Audio Fast Track. (Avid). Although this works extremely well, on booting my system ignores it and I have manually add it again through preferences...

Hoping your Sunday fairs better, thank you for any repsonse.

Cheers - Chippy

User avatar
Chipfryer
Established Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:43 pm

Re: (Solved) QSynth and loading soundfonts - LATENCY

Post by Chipfryer »

Ugh! I had network problems and couldn't post my solution.
Qsynth lists the font as the last in the register. Simple huh? :roll:
So I was thinking the top font was the soundfont being used. :D

Anywho, that is now solved, some fonts work, others do not, but at least it is working.

The only major problem I face now is LATENCY!
Mine is about 69 msec! :evil:
Realtime Kernel is:
3.2.0-23-realtime

I've played around with various settings but understand that somehow I'll have to adjust the KH, then rebuild the Kernel, is this correct?

There's a ast danger that I might again start to write music once more.
Cheers
Chippy

Pablo
Established Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: (Solved) QSynth and loading soundfonts

Post by Pablo »

I've played around with various settings but understand that somehow I'll have to adjust the KH, then rebuild the Kernel, is this correct?
No, you don't have to rebuild the kernel to achieve low latency.

Instead, you have to tweak the jack settings. If your system (hardware, kernel, system configurations...) is in good shape then jack will be able to run at low latency (say, 10 ms) without xruns (missing audio data or drop-outs).

Jack settings (buffer size) is what makes latency high or low, not the kernel. Of course, if your overall system configuration is poor for low-latency audio (the kernel being an important but not the only factor) jack will perform badly at low latency settings.

What's more, recent generic kernels are not so bad for low latency audio. And realtime kernels are not always available (I mean, they are not available for all kernel versions) . Nowadays, a good compromise is the so-called "low-latency kernel" which is easily available.

Anyway, decrease the frames per period in qjackctl's setup and make tests. If you wish, show your jack settings.

EDIT:
A comment on your original post.
A warning is not an error. You might know what the message says so you just ignore it, or you might not know, then you are warned.

User avatar
Chipfryer
Established Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:43 pm

Re: (Solved) QSynth and loading soundfonts

Post by Chipfryer »

Hi Pablo, thank you very much for your reply. I did get this down to around 8 msec after a bit of fiddling around.
Very helpful, thanks again. :)

Pablo wrote:
I've played around with various settings but understand that somehow I'll have to adjust the KH, then rebuild the Kernel, is this correct?
No, you don't have to rebuild the kernel to achieve low latency.

Instead, you have to tweak the jack settings. If your system (hardware, kernel, system configurations...) is in good shape then jack will be able to run at low latency (say, 10 ms) without xruns (missing audio data or drop-outs).

Jack settings (buffer size) is what makes latency high or low, not the kernel. Of course, if your overall system configuration is poor for low-latency audio (the kernel being an important but not the only factor) jack will perform badly at low latency settings.

What's more, recent generic kernels are not so bad for low latency audio. And realtime kernels are not always available (I mean, they are not available for all kernel versions) . Nowadays, a good compromise is the so-called "low-latency kernel" which is easily available.

Anyway, decrease the frames per period in qjackctl's setup and make tests. If you wish, show your jack settings.

EDIT:
A comment on your original post.
A warning is not an error. You might know what the message says so you just ignore it, or you might not know, then you are warned.

Post Reply