Firefox sound broken in last update

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
chaocrator
Establlshed Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:11 pm
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby chaocrator » Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:43 am

PM developers clearly stated that they are going to keep many things that firefox has dropped. see PM site for details.

btw, for those who are interested in migration to PM: there is no such thing as internal PDF viewer.
i'm using mozplugger as the workaround.
Last edited by chaocrator on Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

chtfn
Establlshed Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:21 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby chtfn » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:42 am

How does one use Jack as the Firefox audio backend?

User avatar
42low
Establlshed Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:31 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby 42low » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:30 am

Don't understand something. So question.
Why do you all use ff within your recording setup? What's the goal of that?

chtfn
Establlshed Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:21 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby chtfn » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:41 am

42low wrote:Don't understand something. So question.
Why do you all use ff within your recording setup? What's the goal of that?


To search for answers to the dozens of issues Linux audio users run into? :wink:

Thad E Ginathom
Establlshed Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby Thad E Ginathom » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:18 pm

How was it a whole year before this problem hit me in a big way? :lol:

Anyway, along came Firefox 52, and sound was not my first concern: looking at it is. This Australis thing is not for me and never was. Classic Theme Restorer is a must. Firefox 52 no longer supports that and a host of other plugins that make my environment feel like home :cry:

PaleMoon say that they are never going to Australis, so that is my long-term browser target. However, it does not support lots of other small add-in things I'm used to. Escape route, to keep using the addins, including the one that puts everything in the right places, Firefox 52 ESR.

but no ALSA.

This is curious: I still get sound from Youtube, using the ALSA bridge. Youtube looks after its own audio?

But stuff like BBC news videos remains silent and FF presents an annoying message that I need to install Pulse.

I have Linux Mint 17.3, with bare-bones KXStudio (Cadence, JACK, etc, but not the suite of musician's tools).

Pulse is actually installed, but KX has done its magic to keep it stopped. I don't really want to interfere with that and mess things up. Clicking on the Pulse Bridge button in Cadence does nothing. I guess... because Pulse is not running.

(and err... Hi! Haven't been here for quite a while)

User avatar
sysrqer
Establlshed Member
Posts: 928
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby sysrqer » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:28 pm

42low wrote:Don't understand something. So question.
Why do you all use ff within your recording setup? What's the goal of that?

not everyone has the luxury of more than one computer.

User avatar
42low
Establlshed Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:31 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby 42low » Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:09 pm

42low wrote:Don't understand something. So question.
Why do you all use ff within your recording setup? What's the goal of that?


chtfn wrote:To search for answers to the dozens of issues Linux audio users run into? :wink:


sysrqer wrote:not everyone has the luxury of more than one computer.


That's not what i meant. Off course i understand why some wants sound in it's ff (like for youtube).

But my question is, why one want it's ff sound connected to it's homerecordingsetup and DAW?? (through jack for instance, like i read more than once here)
Are those recording from ff/youtube or whatever?

asbak
Establlshed Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby asbak » Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:06 pm

42low wrote:
42low wrote:Don't understand something. So question.
Why do you all use ff within your recording setup? What's the goal of that?


But my question is, why one want it's ff sound connected to it's homerecordingsetup and DAW?? (through jack for instance, like i read more than once here)
Are those recording from ff/youtube or whatever?


One simple usage case:

Playing virtual synths running on the system or using guitarix, along to youtube to practice a song.
With Pulse-Ebola, it would be a hopeless exercise due to the latency.

asbak
Establlshed Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby asbak » Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:09 pm

chtfn wrote:How does one use Jack as the Firefox audio backend?


If your version of FF doesn't have jack enabled you'll have to compile FF yourself as described earlier in the thread.
There are some issues. It causes occasional xruns and there are audio / video syncing issues in some youtube videos.

asbak
Establlshed Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby asbak » Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:12 pm

Thad E Ginathom wrote:But stuff like BBC news videos remains silent


Considering the depravity and endless #FakeNews they tend to produce that isn't necessarily a bad thing. :mrgreen:

User avatar
42low
Establlshed Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:31 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby 42low » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:43 pm

asbak wrote:Playing virtual synths running on the system or using guitarix, along to youtube to practice a song.


Ok. Clear. Tnx.
In the case of recording i usually use a track import (or even better, make my own). Or when pure practising i just play along with synth or guitar not plugged in on the studio. That's why i didn't understand and asked. :wink:

chtfn
Establlshed Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:21 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby chtfn » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:49 pm

asbak wrote:
chtfn wrote:How does one use Jack as the Firefox audio backend?


If your version of FF doesn't have jack enabled you'll have to compile FF yourself as described earlier in the thread.
There are some issues. It causes occasional xruns and there are audio / video syncing issues in some youtube videos.


Thank you for that :)

barbouze
Establlshed Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 12:26 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby barbouze » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:09 am

Thad E Ginathom wrote:How was it a whole year before this problem hit me in a big way? :lol:
Pulse is actually installed, but KX has done its magic to keep it stopped. I don't really want to interfere with that and mess things up. Clicking on the Pulse Bridge button in Cadence does nothing. I guess... because Pulse is not running.


Do you have the pulseaudio-module-jack package installed?

Thad E Ginathom
Establlshed Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby Thad E Ginathom » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:50 am

barbouze wrote:
Thad E Ginathom wrote: ... ... ...Clicking on the Pulse Bridge button in Cadence does nothing. I guess... because Pulse is not running.


Do you have the pulseaudio-module-jack package installed?

Umm... no I didn't. So I installed it.

Now, when I start the PulseAudio bridge in Cadence, it starts.

The sink/source nomenclature is opposed to my intuition (you put something in a sink and get something from a source: wrong!) but having overcome that small hurdle, I connect up the PulseAudio JACK Sink to my Calf EQ in Catia.

1. Youtube still works.

2. BBC audio (and therefore, I suspect but time will tell, at least some other web sound sources) plays and I get sound

And 3, KXStudio, even though I use it now only for listening to music, rocks! Well worth the small-drink contribution I make monthly.

Many thanks, barbouze. You supplied the missing link. It might be a simple answer, but I could have looked for ever. I was playing with apulse, but had not figured out how to point it at the correct device. Now, with Cadence, it is all just a click away.

CraigPid
Establlshed Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:52 pm

Re: Firefox sound broken in last update

Postby CraigPid » Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:39 pm

I have been using Cadence in Arch with snd-aloop and the pulse sink not running. Firefox sound still works as Arch still has Alsa enabled in ver 52. I tried installing pulseaudio-jack and running the pulse sink but then I lose sound in Firefox. I see in the patchbay that both the alsa loopback and pulse sink are running and connected to the outputs. Are both supposed to be running?


Return to “Linux Distributions & Other Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests