Starting jack in terminal, Cadence does not "see" it

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
mmaceachran
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:12 pm

Starting jack in terminal, Cadence does not "see" it

Post by mmaceachran »

I can start my jack in a terminal like this:

Code: Select all

jackd -R -dalsa -dhw:U192k -r92000 -p512
But when I launch Cadence, it does not see that Jack is started. QJackctl sees it. I really want Catia to work, but does not see that jack is started either. If I start jack from Cadence then everything works fine.

I am trying to script startup and I need the command line to work.

tramp
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

Re: Starting jack in terminal, Cadence does not "see" it

Post by tramp »

Cadence use jackdbus, not jackd.
The usual command to start jackdbus from terminal is

Code: Select all

jack_control start
But I must admit that I didn't use jackdbus, so I may be wrong with jack_control.
On the road again.

User avatar
nikgnomicradio
Established Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Starting jack in terminal, Cadence does not "see" it

Post by nikgnomicradio »

Could you use Patchage instead of Catia?

I suspect you have jackd installed if Cadence cannot see it

if jackd is replaced with jack2 the same start command should work - /usr/bin/jackd
but if jackd was replaced with jack-dbus may need to adjust start command to - /usr/bin/jackdbus

Post Reply