Choosing my first notation program, playback?

Do you typeset your scores on Linux? Share your thoughts, tips, and tricks here.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

micmac

Choosing my first notation program, playback?

Post by micmac »

Hi guys,

I've just registered on this forum. I'm a guitarist/saxophonist and really enjoy writing music (jazz, blues, baroque even). I triple boot Linux, Windows and OS X on my PC, and as a result willing to use terminal. Linux is probably the OS I'm least experienced with, though I know how to install software and all the basic terminal commands (like sudo)

Which leads me too... notation software. I'm looking for an application to notate music with that can play back the entered music through the computer's speakers. I thought this would be a fairly standard feature in all notaation programs, but it seems not. So far I've installed Denemo, MuseScore, NoteEdit, NtEd and Rosegarden (on my Ubuntu Studio 9.10 x64 installation). I've searched and searched for the right options in the menus and preferences, sifted through various manuals and had a look round this wiki but I still can't get anything to playback. The button's there, in some progams the notes even light up as if playing, but I can't hear anything. I have no special audio equipment, just onboard sound and some leads to connect my guitar.

SUMMARY: How can I notate music and have it played back through computer speakers rather than a MIDI output?

Thanks so much for helping out,
I know I'll feel like such a noob when I see how easy the solution is.
Thanks again :)
raboof
Established Member

Re: Choosing my first notation program, playback?

Post by raboof »

micmac wrote:I'm a guitarist/saxophonist and really enjoy writing music (jazz, blues, baroque even).
Welcome!