Sound in Sibelius

Do you typeset your scores on Linux? Share your thoughts, tips, and tricks here.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

stanellison
Established Member

Sound in Sibelius

Post by stanellison »

Hi, I'm fairly new to Linux and been running it for three or four months. I've just got a version of Sibelius running on Linux. I'm using Mint 13 KDE and version 4 of Sibelius. I can get sound output but only by starting Jack and then Qsynth before starting Sibelius. Is there any other way of getting sound without having to start the other programs first?

Another point is I installed Lillypond and my software manager says it is installed but I can't find it to run it. What has happened?
nils
Established Member

Re: Sound in Sibelius

Post by nils »

Sibelius is a Windows program. You are best advised to run it in Windows for best compatibility and performance. I guess you will also get no support from the Sibelius team if you tell them you are running it through Wine. Because that is where you should ask: the sibelius support team. You paid for that, use it :)

Lilypond is a command line program. I bet it is installed. Type

Code: Select all

lilypond --version
into a terminal. It should display 2.16.2 or so.

For more information read the Lilypond beginners tutorial:
http://lilypond.org/doc/v2.16/Documenta ... ning/index
StudioDave
Established Member

Post by StudioDave »

stanellison wrote:Hi, I'm fairly new to Linux and been running it for three or four months. I've just got a version of Sibelius running on Linux. I'm using Mint 13 KDE and version 4 of Sibelius. I can get sound output but only by starting Jack and then Qsynth before starting Sibelius. Is there any other way of getting sound without having to start the other programs first?