Can WebRTC help musicians?

Discuss how to promote using FLOSS to make music.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Rainmak3r
Established Member

Can WebRTC help musicians?

Post by Rainmak3r »

Hi all,

first of all, a disclaimer. I'm a WebRTC developer myself: specifically, I'm the main author of Janus, an open source WebRTC server that has gained some popularity these past few years. That said, I love making music and I love open source, which is the main reason why I've been hanging out around here for more than a year now (mostly sharing my "creations" with folks). As such, I wanted to figure out whether or not you think there's anything WebRTC could do to help musicians in the FOSS world.

If you're not familiar with WebRTC, in a nutshell it's a technology that allows you to create peer-to-peer real time media channels in a browser, with no need for custom plugins like Flash or Java applets. It was originally born to allow you to make video calls from a browser in JavaScript, but it soon ended up becoming so much more, involving many more different devices as well. Thanks to the help of dedicated applications and servers (that do break the peer-to-peer paradigm, but mostly with good reason), it's currently being used in a whole variety of vastly heterogeneous use cases. If you'd like to know more about it in general, please don't hesitate to ask: I have plenty of material to point you to.