Open source patent

Discuss how to promote using FLOSS to make music.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

AAA
Established Member

Open source patent

Post by AAA »

Hi! I am studying to try and build a very realistic midi controller keyboard (that emulates a grand piano's mechanics), with an approach I believe is novel.

If my understanding is correct, I could patent this, and then if, say, fatar wants to make a keybed using my technology, I have the right to ask for money or to not give them the right to use it at all.

If I wanted to both allow everyone to use this design AND not allow fatar/m-audio/whatever to patent it, would I need to patent it myself or would it be enough to write a "patent" and put it on github (so that when someone tries to patent it, there's prior art)? Is this practical, ie. would fatar be able to submit a patent and have it granted, and I would have to have a costly fight to have the patent dismissed?

This is purely a curiosity. I doubt my design is feasible, so this project will probably fail.
sadko4u
Established Member

Re: Open source patent

Post by sadko4u »

AAA wrote:If I wanted to both allow everyone to use this design AND not allow fatar/m-audio/whatever to patent it, would I need to patent it myself or would it be enough to write a "patent" and put it on github (so that when someone tries to patent it, there's prior art)? Is this practical, ie. would fatar be able to submit a patent and have it granted, and I would have to have a costly fight to have the patent dismissed?
You're mixing up patent and license.
wikipedia wrote: A patent (/ˈpætənt/ or /ˈpeɪtənt/) is a set of exclusive rights granted by a sovereign state to an inventor or assignee for a limited period of time in exchange for detailed public disclosure of an invention. An invention is a solution to a specific technological problem and is a product or a process.[1]:17 Patents are a form of intellectual property.