My experience with linux audio so far

Discuss how to promote using FLOSS to make music.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ess2theg
Established Member

My experience with linux audio so far

Post by ess2theg »

So I thought I'd write down and share some of my experience with Linux audio so far.

So far I've experimented with Ubuntu using the studio packages and with a fresh install of Ubuntu studio.

This is from the perspective of an electronic music producer and aspiring live performer.

Please take my criticisms with a grain of salt. I realize that things take time with open source development and I recognize the hard work that went into all of the software that I've used so far. Also being a software developer I can respect that it's not always possible to foresee every possible use of a piece of software. With that in mind:

The good:

Modular design that looks promising in the long term. Lots of room for personalized configuration.
Plenty of software to choose from.
Open source collaboration on a domain that is complex.
Loads of fx plugins
LV2 is looking promising so far.
ZynAddSubFX / Yoshimi - So good it's insane.

The bad:

Jackbusd on Ubuntu studio seems immature and ticky
Gladish seems immature and ticky. (I really like the concept and data structure model though)
-Does not remember all connections.
-Session patchbay doesn't show all of the clients so I end up using patchage to wire everything up (which also doesn't work too well).
Alsa and Jack can't talk to eachother without running a2jmidid, though, as a workaround a2jmidid is excellent (I am told this should work out of the box in studio though I haven't experienced that yet)
No midi learn on most jack clients. This makes Linux audio unusable for live electronic music performance. (If it can turn, twist, slide, be toggled on/off, or have a variable value I need to be able to assign a midi control to it)
LV2 instruments are sparse. The instruments that are there are good though.