Sound Blaster Live! I/O

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Jackass
Established Member

Sound Blaster Live! I/O

Post by Jackass »

Hello,

I've recently been setting up my box for sound production. But I have a few problems. The most annoying of which is an issue with instant playback from my sound card's input. Even before I run Jack, for some reason ALSA plays back any sound from input. I'm pretty sure it's just a configuration issue, but I'm at a loss trying to find out what to do to fix it. I need more control over what reaches my speakers. It's hard to record when you have to fight with unwanted sound that doesn't get put down on track.

I'm running Linux Mint 8, with a Sound Blaster Live! sound card using the ALSA mixer... I guess. I'm still learning this stuff.

I'd appreciate any help,

Thanks

Tim
StudioDave
Established Member

Re: Sound Blaster Live! I/O

Post by StudioDave »

A few things to know about the Live card: First, it's hard-wired to record at 48 kHz, so if you use JACK make sure it's sampling rate is set to 48000. You can most easily do that with QJackCtl, a GUI for JACK. Consider it an indispensable tool. Install it from a repo if you don't already have it.

You can use the on-board synth but you need to load an SF2 bank into it. You can use the fxload or sfxload utility to do that, IIRC.

I'm sure you know that you'll need an adapter to access the hardware MIDI ports. MIDI isn't too bad with the Live, but I think the PCI128 was actually a bit better with regards to timing and jitter. Don't quote me though.

Btw, if you use another sr with the Live you'll eventually hear some unwanted noise. Use the thing at 48k.

Let us know how you fare.

Best,

dp
Jackass
Established Member

Post by Jackass »

Okay, thanks for that tip on the sampling rate. I was wondering why I was getting that static from. I doubt it will be any problem now.