[SOLVED] Command line syntax for pasuspender

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
Groove On
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 8:51 am

[SOLVED] Command line syntax for pasuspender

Post by Groove On »

Hi,

I need help running pasuspender with the correct command line syntax. How can write this properly so pasuspender can run it? It chokes when I add the argument --fullscreen.

This works

Code: Select all

pasuspender '/opt/Pianoteq 7 STAGE/arm-64bit/Pianoteq 7 STAGE'
This chokes

Code: Select all

pasuspender '/opt/Pianoteq 7 STAGE/arm-64bit/Pianoteq 7 STAGE' --fullscreen
Notes:
pasuspender suspends Pulse Audio while the specified program is running.

EXTRA CREDIT
If I want to assign Pianoteq to the 4x high-performance cores AND suspend pulse audio, how could I do that in one line? :) This is how I'd assign Pianoteq to 4x cores. How the heck would I get pasuspender to swallow that?

Code: Select all

taskset -c 2,3,4,5 '/opt/Pianoteq 7 STAGE/arm-64bit/Pianoteq 7 STAGE' --fullscreen
Last edited by Groove On on Sat May 15, 2021 12:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
LAM
Established Member
Posts: 992
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 348 times

Re: Command Line syntax for pasuspender

Post by LAM »

Hi @Groove On,
I would suggest to create a script named pianoteq with

Code: Select all

taskset -c 2,3,4,5 '/opt/Pianoteq 7 STAGE/arm-64bit/Pianoteq 7 STAGE' --fullscreen
as content, give it execute right. Put it in your $PATH.

Then execute

Code: Select all

pasusespender pianoteq
If it doesn't work I'm quite sure is a whitespace escape character problem.

Another solution is just killing PA manually, maybe disabling autospawn.
Last edited by LAM on Sat May 15, 2021 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

in mix, nobody can hear your screen

Groove On
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 8:51 am

Re: Command Line syntax for pasuspender

Post by Groove On »

LAM wrote: Sat May 15, 2021 12:26 pmI would suggest to create a script named pianoteq
That's so crazy it just might work.
Last edited by Groove On on Sat May 15, 2021 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Groove On
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 8:51 am

Re: [SOLVED] Command line syntax for pasuspender

Post by Groove On »

Okay I tried it and it works! Thank you!

1. Script is /usr/local/bin/pianoteq.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
taskset -c 2,3,4,5 '/opt/Pianoteq 7 STAGE/arm-64bit/Pianoteq 7 STAGE' --fullscreen
2. Executed as

Code: Select all

$ pasuspender pianoteq.sh
... and bingo, Bob's your uncle ...
Post Reply