Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2403
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by studio32 »

I post this a bit for my own memory, but years ago I think I was able to use netjack via a ethernet crossover cable. Not really know a lot about it, but posted it for discussion or as idea for you to experiment with and give us your feedback.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethernet_crossover_cable

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by tavasti »

Crossover cable is just way to implement your network. So for netjack, it does not matter is there crossover cable or both machines with normal cable connected to switch.
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2403
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by studio32 »

I think it was a tip by Paul Davis back then. It probably makes connecting more easy. But I'm no expert on the topic, I just found the cable cleaning up my room ;)

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by tavasti »

It has some advantages:
- Cheap, cheapest possible
- Full bandwith in use, because there is nobody else on same line distrubing
- Simple, no error prone electronics
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2403
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by studio32 »


User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2403
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by studio32 »

Netjack2 works via wifi, but can't get it work with the crossover cable. Network is unreachable.

I was able to ping both manual ip addresses. (10.0.0.1 and 10.0.0.2)

edit: zita-j2n is working though using the crossover cable

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by tavasti »

studio32 wrote:Netjack2 works via wifi, but can't get it work with the crossover cable. Network is unreachable.

I was able to ping both manual ip addresses. (10.0.0.1 and 10.0.0.2)

edit: zita-j2n is working though using the crossover cable
For netjack, you may need to configure it to use correct network. When you have more than one network connected, it maybe picks the one which is default?
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2403
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Netjack with a ethernet crossover cable

Post by studio32 »

I got it working when adding the ip address of the master when starting JACK on the slave:

Code: Select all

jackd -R -d net -a 10.0.0.2
More here: https://github.com/jackaudio/jackaudio. ... r_NetJack2

Post Reply