Page 1 of 1

Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:11 pm
by lilith
Some days ago with my old KXStudio 14.04 configuration I've got when starting Ardour via the terminal the message:

Code: Select all

convolution: samplerate mismatch preset:48000 host:44100


Now with Debian 9 the same message. The strange thing is that my Interface is set to 48kHz and also in Jack / Cadence I see 48kHz, even the Ardour Project is 48 kHz. I also can change the rate of the interface via changing the rate in Jack. So everything works, but where does this message come from???

I googled and find basically only my own threads or very recent ones from 2018 *lol*.

Qtractor shows the same in the info window.

When I set the interface and JAck to 44.1 kHz I get also:

Code: Select all

convolution: samplerate mismatch preset:48000 host:44100


This makes no sense at all .... :lol:

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:39 am
by GMaq
Hi,

Have you started any applications that use JACK before launching Cadence?

I don't use Cadence but I have had it happen if I launch Carla or use jalv they will start their own process with JACK D-bus, then later I start JACK and 'jackdbus' is already running and you can end up with 2 jack processes at 2 different sample rates... That's probably not what's happening to you but it's just a guess, Does your session have some kind of convolver plugin running?

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:50 am
by lilith
No, it happens if I just start Cadence and an empty Ardour project without anything directly after booting and there's nothing else running.

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:20 pm
by finotti
FWiw, I have been seeing that too, using Cadence and Ardour from KXStudio... I have not noticed any audible problems.

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:45 pm
by lilith
finotti wrote:FWiw, I have been seeing that too, using Cadence and Ardour from KXStudio... I have not noticed any audible problems.


Ah... that's good to hear. :D Thanks!

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:15 pm
by elerale
Same thing here but it doesn't seem to be causing any issue.

Cheers
Erwan

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 3:20 pm
by Frank Carvalho
lilith wrote:
finotti wrote:FWiw, I have been seeing that too, using Cadence and Ardour from KXStudio... I have not noticed any audible problems.


Ah... that's good to hear. :D Thanks!


Or perhaps *not* to hear? :-)

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:07 pm
by lilith
:mrgreen:

Re: Samplerate mismatch

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:17 pm
by ConduitStudio
I've been getting the same error, but they unfortunately end with Segmentation Fault, and I can't run programs like Audaciy, Guitarix, Jalv.Select...

I've uninstalled everything convolver related, one by one, LOL, and the problem is "zita-convolver" from the community repos (arch linux). Guitarix won't start without it, I've removed zita-convolver but leaving other packages related to it (using

Code: Select all

sudo pacman -Rdd zita-convolver
), and Guitarix wouldn't start

Code: Select all

guitarix: error while loading shared libraries: libzita-convolver.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

All the other convolver packages didn't seem to make any difference. My system is also set to 48khz.

Maybe there's a way to make zita-convolver skip this samplerate check (as it is totally wrong, LOL)??