Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
tramp
Established Member
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by tramp »

I run linux-image 4.0.4-rt1 now, and it is the first one after the 3.4- series which works smooth here on my box.

System: Host: box Kernel: 4.0.4-rt1 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.9.2)
Desktop: Cinnamon 2.2.16 (Gtk 3.14.5)
Distro: siduction 14.1.0 Indian Summer - cinnamon - (201411230307)
Machine: Mobo: Intel model: DG965MQ v: AAD37419-302
Bios: Intel v: MQ96510J.86A.1250.2006.1005.1532 date: 10/05/2006
CPU: Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 19199
clock speeds: max: 2394 MHz 1: 2394 MHz 2: 2394 MHz 3: 2394 MHz
4: 2394 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GT216 [GeForce GT 220] bus-ID: 01:00.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1600x900@59.98hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVA5
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.4.2 Direct Rendering: Yes


Great work by the linux-rt folks.
http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-rt-u ... 13357.html
On the road again.

bazsound
Established Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:46 am

Re: Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by bazsound »

Is there a script that helps build the kernel with patch.

ive done it before with 3-12 and up with poor results, mind you those kernels are horroble on my machiens either resulting in complete system locks or just buggy.

tramp
Established Member
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

Re: Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by tramp »

No script, I just do the usual steps.
Download the kernel source, download the patch and run

Code: Select all

patch -p1 -i ../patch-4.0.4-rt1.patch

from the kernel source directory. Then I run

Code: Select all

make oldconfig
to reuse my existing kernel config. On all upcoming questions I just hit enter.
then I do a

Code: Select all

make xconfig
to control the settings, and maybe change some stuff. Mostly no changes are needed.
I build the kernel then with

Code: Select all

CONCURRENCY_LEVEL=`nproc` LOCALVERSION= fakeroot make-kpkg --initrd --revision 0 kernel_image kernel_headers
and later on I install it with dpkg -i

I'm very pleased with the 4.0.4-rt1, it works rock stable here.
On the road again.

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2528
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by funkmuscle »

got it and the vanilla running on Arch and the support or driver for my midi was gone.. downgraded to the earlier rt kernel and it's back.
I have a TerraTec DMX6Fire pic card with frontend. It uses the ice1712 alsa driver.

Rampoina
Established Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 10:52 am

Re: Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by Rampoina »

You have to manually load the snd_seq_midi module https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/44286

Code: Select all

modprobe snd_seq_midi

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2528
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by funkmuscle »

yes thanks! I did read the bug report so all I did was just downgrade to the Kernell before that and I'll wait for the fix.

Rampoina
Established Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 10:52 am

Re: Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by Rampoina »

yes thanks! I did read the bug report so all I did was just downgrade to the Kernell before that and I'll wait for the fix.
That's fine, I just wanted to let you know that you didn't need to downgrade, just load the module manually or edit /etc/modules-load.d/modules-load.conf and put snd_seq_midi to load it on boot. (I don't think it's going to be fixed any time soon)

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2528
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Kernel 4.0.4-rt1

Post by funkmuscle »

Rampoina wrote:
yes thanks! I did read the bug report so all I did was just downgrade to the Kernell before that and I'll wait for the fix.
That's fine, I just wanted to let you know that you didn't need to downgrade, just load the module manually or edit /etc/modules-load.d/modules-load.conf and put snd_seq_midi to load it on boot. (I don't think it's going to be fixed any time soon)
Thanx again. Let's hope it's fixed soon. My system started to freeze up too but not sure if it is the kernel or some lib32 thing as I wanted to use Reaper for access to a vsti.

Post Reply