SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
Quillz
Established Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:51 pm

SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Post by Quillz »

Hi all,

I had my Audigy 1 up and running for playing guitar along with drums and synths on Ardour and Rosegarden and recording stuff. This was in AV Linux a couple of years ago. I stopped for a while due to life stuff and have now returned to doing music. I am now using KX Studio 12.04.01 32-bit (the full install version - as opposed to installing it on top of ubuntu or whatever).

I am trying to record acoustic guitar but KMix (and Alsa mixer) is not showing any capture ports for the Audigy 1. I can hear the guitar (plugged into the line-in on the Audigy) when I bump up the Analog Mix and Line sliders. My iMic and Creative webcam Live! both show up in KMixer and both have a mic port with the little capture checkbox. I can hook up the capture input from the iMic to the Audigy's outputs in Catia and it works fine (except for the lousy latency).

I'd prefer to use the input on the Audigy for less latency but, as I say, there are no capture ports. I'm a bit stumped.

As far as I can tell from http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index. ... le-emu10k1 there should be no issue.
Other googling efforts haven't really turned up anything.

Hopefully I am missing something mind-numbingly simple and obvious but can't see for looking. Any help would be much appreciated

Pablo
Established Member
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Post by Pablo »

Take a look at the output of "arecord -l". Is not there a capture device in the SB?

Quillz
Established Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Post by Quillz »

arecord -l lists 3 capture devices on the audigy

The full list - audigy is card 4 at the bottom:

Code: Select all

**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 1: Loopback [Loopback], device 0: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: Loopback [Loopback], device 1: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 2: system [iMic USB audio system], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: HD [VF0610 Live! Cam Socialize HD], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 4: Audigy [SB Audigy 1 [SB0090]], device 0: emu10k1 [ADC Capture/Standard PCM Playback]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 4: Audigy [SB Audigy 1 [SB0090]], device 1: emu10k1 mic [Mic Capture]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 4: Audigy [SB Audigy 1 [SB0090]], device 2: emu10k1 efx [Multichannel Capture/PT Playback]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Pablo
Established Member
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Post by Pablo »

And there are no capture levels in

Code: Select all

alsamixer -c4


when you press F4?

Quillz
Established Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Post by Quillz »

Hi Pablo, thanks for the replies.

There are indeed capture levels showing in alsamixer. No "line" level (it's present in playback section though).
BUT I fiddled around a bit. In catia I put the system capture 1 through rakarrack into the playbacks and fiddled with the capture levels in alsamixer to see if anything turned up. A combination of the "line" level in playback section of alsamixer and "analog mix" in the capture section (the "analog mix" in the playback section is turned right down) gave me a result (i.e. I get input in rakarrack)

It has been a while since I had things working in AV Linux but this situation seems very odd. I could be wrong of course. Does it make sense to you?

Eino
Established Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:22 pm
Location: Music City USA
Contact:

Re: SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Post by Eino »

Check to see if the on-board sound is disabled, It may be conflicting with the SoundBlaster card.
I had a similar issue when my bios battery went dead.


To test the and adjust inputs
Run

Code: Select all

arecord -vv -fdat foo.wav
You will have a file called foo.wav in you home directory. Too listen to the quality of the play back.
"Music is everybody's possession. It's only publishers who think that people own it. "
John Lennon

https://soundcloud.com/eino1953

Eino
Established Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:22 pm
Location: Music City USA
Contact:

Re: SB Audigy 1 has no capture ports?

Post by Eino »

you can also set the capture this way.

examples

Code: Select all

amixer set Mic 100 capture
should look like this.

Code: Select all

 $ amixer set Line2 100 capture
Simple mixer control 'Line2',0
  Capabilities: pvolume cvolume penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 100 Capture 0 - 100
  Front Left: Playback 100 [100%] [0.00dB] Capture 100 [100%] [0.00dB]
  Front Right: Playback 100 [100%] [0.00dB] Capture 100 [100%] [0.00dB]
Then it will show the capture devices.

Card: SB Audigy 2 [SB0350b] F1: Help │
│ Chip: SigmaTel STAC9750,51 F2: System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture F5: All F6: Select sound card │
│ Item: Master [dB ┌─────── /proc/asound/devices ───────┐ Exit │
│ 1: : sequencer │ │
│ │ 2: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent │ │
│ ┌──┐ ┌──┐ │ 3: [ 0- 1]: raw midi │ ┌──┐ │
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 4: [ 0- 0]: raw midi │ │ │ │
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 5: [ 0- 4]: digital audio playback│ │ │ │
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 6: [ 0- 4]: digital audio capture │ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 7: [ 0- 3]: digital audio playback│ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 8: [ 0- 2]: digital audio playback│ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 9: [ 0- 2]: digital audio capture │ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 10: [ 0- 1]: digital audio capture │ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 11: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback│ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 12: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture │ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 13: [ 0] : control │ │ │ >
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 14: [ 0- 2]: hardware dependent │ │ │ │
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 15: [ 0- 2]: raw midi │ │ │ │
│ │ │ │▒▒│ │ 16: [ 0- 3]: raw midi │ │ │ │
│ └──┘ ├──┤ │ 33: : timer │ └──┘ ┌──┐ │
│ │OO│ └────────────────────────────────────┘ │MM│ │
│ └──┘ └──┘ └──┘ │
│ 0 100<>100 50<>50 50<>50 0 0 │
│ < Master >Headphon Tone Bass Treble 3D Contr 3D Contr 3D Contr
"Music is everybody's possession. It's only publishers who think that people own it. "
John Lennon

https://soundcloud.com/eino1953

Post Reply