Wrestling with JACK - JACK is winning

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

lintlicker
Established Member

Wrestling with JACK - JACK is winning

Post by lintlicker »

Hi,
It is nice to see that this forum is still active. I was active here for a period in 2011, but life happened and I disappeared for a bit.

But now I'm back, and I'm looking for some guidance dealing with JACK. For me, this program is an enigma. It seemingly has a will of its own, deciding when to function, and when to crash; when to behave, and when to just do its own thing. Clearly I'm doing something wrong, but after reading countless JACK set-up guides, I'm spinning my wheels.

Here's the situation: I'm a teacher. My old Windows desktop was stolen, so now I'm left with this half-dead elderly dog of a desktop. It doesn't boot windows anymore, so I installed Lubuntu and things have been great. Now, I'm trying to use my Edirol UA 4FX through JACK to record and run a synthesizer.

Here's where stuff gets weird. JACK *usually* refuses to acknowledge the UA 4FX, HOWEVER, the device is recognized and functions. Audacity is able to use the device as a sound source and i have successfully recorded in this manner. If recording was my only goal, I would have no problem. This is what I typically do:

Boot
Launch JACK
Start JACK
plug in UA 4FX
start other applications (like Yoshimi, Ardour, Audacity)

The UA 4FX does not appear in the connections tab. I cannot create connections to the device because it refuses to show up in the connections tab. In the setup dialog, the UA 4FX appears in the list when you press ">" at "Interface" but it has no effect. I've tried tweaking so many settings and I am stumped about what to do now. I suspect that for some reason my device is not "talking" to ALSA. Maybe it's talking to Pulseaudio, I don't know. I don't know how to verify or fix this.