jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

calimerox
Established Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:46 pm

jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by calimerox »

This is very vague , I know and apologies for that!

I run cadence with jack 2 on a manjaro (arch based) linux in my sound studio and usually without any problem. Till yesterday suddenly jack2 stopped working: I get tons of xruns and no sound at all. when insalling jack1 and running qjackctl, it works. But for my soundwork in need jack2 to bridge to pulseaudio etc. therefore my question: is there a way to return to default configuration preferences when re installing jack2? I remember there was a startup configuration script to run when setting up kxstudio, but i cannot find information about it (if it is still there) and i dont know if running this would be possible at all in a non - debian distro. any help is very much appreciated!! :)

btw i run a rme multifaceII pcie card

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by Kott »

is there a way to return to default configuration preferences when re installing jack2?
those settings is in ~/.config/rncbc.org

calimerox
Established Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by calimerox »

thank you!!

that is the config file, but it seems it has nothing to do with it, as even when i rename it and cadence loads, the problem persists..
QjackCtlconf.txt


Screenshot from 2020-04-05 15-02-43.png

i have no clue where i can find the logs. ;( any idea? it is really weird, as when i install jack1 everything works again...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1902
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by sysrqer »

What happens when you do force restart? Are you sure the right card is selected in the settings of cadence?

calimerox
Established Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by calimerox »

when i do force restart, jack gets started (I guess, I can see it when i open qjackctl that it is running) but cadence gives me the same error screen as above. so it seems cadence fails to connect/interact correctly with jack2?

I checked the sound cards, yes i have the right one connected and it should all work.

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1332
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by bluebell »

Under Setup -> Options -> Logging in Qjackctl you can switch on logging to a file.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by Kott »

Sorry, not clear for me.
Do you use qjackctl or cadence? It's independent programs and shouldn't interfere with each-other. Cadence config is in ~/.config/Cadence

calimerox
Established Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by calimerox »

sorry for the confusion, I use cadence. I just fired up qjackctl to see if jack is doing something...
in the config files I cannot find anything readable hinting to what could be wrong.
Cadence.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by Kott »

these files are not editable (mostly)
try to backup whole dir into ~/.config/Cadence_save and start over :)

calimerox
Established Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by calimerox »

Thank you for your suggestion! I did that, but immediately a new /Cadence folder was created (with I guess the same content) and it still does not connect :(

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by Kott »

ok, what you did to solve the problem?
if nothing significant, then lets start from beginning, do you have jack running now?

ps aux|grep jack

calimerox
Established Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by calimerox »

yes I have no clue, it looks like this:

Code: Select all

ps aux|grep jack
kalimer+    3862  0.0  0.0  29580  7520 ?        Ss   16:50   0:00 /usr/bin/jackdbus auto
kalimer+    3894  1.2  0.8 354980 133316 ?       SLsl 16:50   1:09 /usr/bin/jackd -T -ndefault -r -dalsa -dhw:DSP,0 -r48000 -p1024 -n2 -s -Xraw
kalimer+    3916  0.6  0.6 186932 111164 ?       SLl  16:50   0:36 alsa_in -d cloop 48000 -p 1024 -j alsa2jack -q 1 -c 2
kalimer+    3917  0.5  0.6 186676 111328 ?       SLl  16:50   0:30 alsa_out -d ploop 48000 -p 1024 -j jack2alsa -q 1 -c 2
kalimer+   13709  0.0  0.0   6628  2344 pts/4    S+   18:20   0:00 grep --colour=auto jack

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by Kott »

Hm, I guess all this was autostarted?
Did you try to terminate all this stuff and run jack via cadence or qjackctl? Also there is ~/.jacdrc file which may keep settings.

calimerox
Established Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by calimerox »

Yes, all autostart.

I just tried to end the jackdbus process, but it comes back right again.. maybe there is a problem, that there is a process always running and blocking all the rest?

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1902
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: jack2 stopped working on my manjaro machine...

Post by sysrqer »

calimerox wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 1:31 pm
when i do force restart, jack gets started (I guess, I can see it when i open qjackctl that it is running) but cadence gives me the same error screen as above. so it seems cadence fails to connect/interact correctly with jack2?

I checked the sound cards, yes i have the right one connected and it should all work.
Can you post a screenshot of the cadence preferences under Config? It's not clear if you have selected the right card in the settings or just have connected the card to your computer.

Post Reply