Festige, a gui for fst

Discuss anything new and newsworthy! See http://planet.linuxaudio.org for more Linux Audio News!

Announcements of proprietary software may fit better in the Marketplace.

Moderators: raboof, khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby raboof » Mon May 31, 2010 9:40 pm

falkTX wrote:
raboof wrote:Cool. The latest wisdom dictates we should use 'rtprio' instead of 'nice' for audio, though, shouldn't we? :)


I didn't had the time to fully test the hack, but it did help FL Studio to run with lower lattency and cpu power.
We'll see how fst behaves soon enough

But if nice helps somewhat, shouldn't rtprio help even more?

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby Capoeira » Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:21 am

trying building it in Arch:

Code: Select all

[studio@myhost festige-0.3]$ make
pyuic4 -o ./src/ui_mainw.py ./src/mainw.ui
pyuic4 -o ./src/ui_settingsw.py ./src/settingsw.ui
py_compilefiles ./src/*.py
/bin/sh: py_compilefiles: comando não encontrado
make: ** [build] Erro 127


python and pyqt is installed

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby raboof » Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:09 am

Capoeira wrote:

Code: Select all

/bin/sh: py_compilefiles: comando não encontrado


On Debian:

Code: Select all

arnouten@jaga:~/topicus$ apt-file search py_compilefiles
python-central: /usr/bin/py_compilefiles
python-central: /usr/share/man/man1/py_compilefiles.1.gz


Does Arch have a 'python-central' package or something like that?

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby funkmuscle » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:46 am

being a Deb app, I extract it in a directory and just put all the files where ever they go.

StudioDave
Established Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:12 pm

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby StudioDave » Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:07 pm

FYI: Festige has worked fine on my Ubuntu 9.10 system, but the new version won't load any plugins. Every plugin I try results in the "Can't load foo.dll" error. Anyone else seen this behavior from the latest Festige ?

Best,

dp

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby funkmuscle » Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:07 pm

python festige.py works great on Arch

StudioDave
Established Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:12 pm

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby StudioDave » Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:23 pm

falkTX wrote:IRC #lad, i'm "falktx"
I'll help you


Ach, I just missed you there.

Anyway, the problem is solved. I had a stale .festigerc in $HOME.

(Note to self: Search for and destroy all stale .rc files.)


Festige works fine now, sorry for the noise.

Btw, I took your advice and updated pyjack. My last installed version was 0.1, it's been a while between updates. :oops:

Best,

dp

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby Capoeira » Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:39 pm

funkmuscle wrote:python festige.py works great on Arch


yes



I hoped this version could give my better performance with the RT-option from Jack, but i still get less latency without it (even with priority to max (19) in festige-options)......performance seems better though.
when i look in htop my loaded VST gets a priority of 11 (first entry) and the others hav priority of 2

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby raboof » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:36 pm

Capoeira wrote:i still get less latency without it (even with priority to max (19) in festige-options).
when i look in htop my loaded VST gets a priority of 11 (first entry) and the others have priority of 2

Just to be sure: you're looking at the 'rtprio' field, not the 'nice' field, right?

19 is not usually the max rtprio. It is, however, the highest 'nice' value, which actually means the *least* favourable scheduling.

Basically the 'nice' value is only used when the scheduler has to choose between 2 processes with the same rtprio. So for audio, setting up the rtprio's right can help.

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby Capoeira » Sat Jun 05, 2010 1:15 am

raboof wrote:
Capoeira wrote:i still get less latency without it (even with priority to max (19) in festige-options).
when i look in htop my loaded VST gets a priority of 11 (first entry) and the others have priority of 2

Just to be sure: you're looking at the 'rtprio' field, not the 'nice' field, right?

19 is not usually the max rtprio. It is, however, the highest 'nice' value, which actually means the *least* favourable scheduling.

Basically the 'nice' value is only used when the scheduler has to choose between 2 processes with the same rtprio. So for audio, setting up the rtprio's right can help.


I am talking about the value in festige.........so it would be better to include rtprio instead of nice in festige

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby Capoeira » Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:45 pm

how can i manually give a higher priority to fst?
can programs be manipulated with rtirq, too?

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby Capoeira » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:42 pm

Capoeira wrote:how can i manually give a higher priority to fst?
can programs be manipulated with rtirq, too?


I tried this, but....

Code: Select all

[studio@myhost ~]$ rtprio 65 /usr/bin/fst RealGuitar2.dll
bash: rtprio: comando não encontrado (comand not found)

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby raboof » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:46 pm

Capoeira wrote:how can i manually give a higher priority to fst?

'chrt' (http://wiki.linuxmusicians.com/doku.php ... priorities)
can programs be manipulated with rtirq, too?

Not sure.

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Postby Capoeira » Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:43 am

ok, the link didn't help but i found out....

I have to use the "chrt"-comand

Code: Select all

chrt -p 65 [fst-comand with vst.dll]


it defenetly improves the performance a bit....looked in festige and found out that chrt is used in it, too....but it is set to priority 1........it should be set near 65 (with jack set to 70)

Pablo
Established Member
Posts: 1269
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: Festige, a gui for fst

Postby Pablo » Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:07 am

can programs be manipulated with rtirq, too?


From the Alsa Wiki:
The script identifies the audio devices present on the machine and raises the priority of the threads that handle the IRQs of such devices.


how can i manually give a higher priority to fst?


Have you take a look at the priority fst actually gets?
Is something wrong with it?

Why make things more difficult than strictly necessary?


Return to “Linux Music News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests