MusE 3.1 released

Discuss anything new and newsworthy! See http://planet.linuxaudio.org for more Linux Audio News!

Announcements of proprietary software may fit better in the Marketplace.

Moderators: raboof, MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

MusE 3.1 released

Post by spamatica »

Once more we've decided enough is enough, time to crank out a proper release, enter MusE 3.1!

As per usual, more years than we care to recount has passed since the last one. And, as per usual a lot of things has been brewing during this time.

Among the bigger features since 3.0 is the inclusion of a Plugin cache. This has two benefits, scanning of plugins are no longer done on a standard startup, making the startup a lot faster. Also the scanning is done in a separate process so no more crashes during startup due to issues with plugins.

Here is a short list of other prominent changes since 3.0:
  • Metronome improved, a lot of new settings
    • reawakened pre count!
    • Auto-connect metronome to first audio output track.
  • General plugins improvements
    • Effect rack extended to 8 plugins instead of 4
    • Generic plugin UI: Added 'Quirks' buttons to toolbar
  • LV2 plugins
    • Fix sequencing/syncing plugins (Helm, LV2 metronome, NoiseMak3r...)
    • Rewrite of state/worker support and more, fixes several synths:
    • Fix plugins using worker extension, such as
    • v1 suite (drumkv1 etc.)
    • Removed ALL internal LV2 support. Too hard to maintain.
    • Fixed LV2 X11 GUI size.
    • MidNam support
  • VST plugins
    • Fix # 708: Surge-vst crashes.
  • DSSI/VST
    • DSSI-VST was recently found to be working on recent kernels. There's now a plugin tab for configuring the initialization of this support from inside MusE
  • LADSPA plugins
    • Ladspa RDF (lrdf) support.
  • A lot of UI changes for better consistency and usability, menus, toolbars.
  • Many many under the hood changes for more consistency and lower cpu usage in the editors
  • Better support for HiDPI screens
  • Lots and lots of new keyboard shortcuts and now a search field in the shortcut dialog to make it easier to locate shortcuts also.
  • Many many new vectorized icons
  • More colors in UI customizable, including for stylesheets
  • Settings dialog redesigned to make it easier to navigate.
  • Double click on track ID selects all tracks of the same type
  • Transport window slightly redesigned
  • Improvements to midi timing
  • Global cut/insert improvements, fixes crashes with markers
  • Rewind on stop setting
Teasers for major improvements:
We have also some major improvements that have crept into the release but still have some issues which make us not recommend using them quite yet.
  • Realtime time-stretch and samplerate-stretch conversion. An embryo for this functionality exist in the Wave editor, check out the new button on the tool bar. Do consider it is not finished though.
  • Latency correction / compensation. In the settings there is a new tab with settings for latency compensation. Finally MusE can compensate for delays in the audio chain to keep everything in sync. This feature is not turned on by default as there are some nagging bugs that you need to be aware of, see bugs:
For the complete list of changes see:
https://github.com/muse-sequencer/muse/ ... /ChangeLog

The homepage has moved and undergone a much needed refresh, check it out:
https://muse-sequencer.github.io/

Download: https://github.com/muse-sequencer/muse/releases

Demos page: https://github.com/muse-sequencer/muse/wiki/Demos

Forum: https://linuxmusicians.com/viewforum.php?f=61

GraysonPeddie
Established Member
Posts: 609
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:12 pm
Location: Altha, FL
Contact:

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by GraysonPeddie »

Nice to see improvements for those who are into MIDI sequencing. I see MIDI sequencing as MusE's biggest strength as I wrote my songs using a piano roll editor. And yes, all three of my songs are written using a piano roll editor in MusE Sequencer.
https://soundcloud.com/grayson-peddie

After the MIDI work is done, including software synthesizers, samples, and Roland Fantom XR, I them record MIDI tracks into separate audio tracks in Ardour and then import my Ardour project into Harrison Mixbus for mixing.

I've also created a video featuring MusE Sequencer as part of my video project. All of this is done at home while I was enrolled in web development course. Right around 1:17 you should see MusE Sequencer.
https://lbry.tv/@GraysonPeddie:6/WebPro ... erCenter:a

All thanks to the Linux community.

In my opinion, I like how applications can do one thing well instead of trying to do too many things at once such as having audio tracks in MusE Sequencer. I tried Qtractor and Ardour, bu the two DAWs are unsuitable for my workflow. For example, I don't like that I have to save my project in Qtractor before I write musical notes to find what works and doesn't work before I start my real project. Plus, I'm used to hitting "d" for drawing MIDI notes, "s" for selecting notes, and "r" for erasing. In Ardour, I would prefer to have a separate window for a piano roll. I'm not comfortable with having an in-place MIDI editor when I quickly navigate around my project.

Now if only there are high-end sample libraries similar to Spitfire Symphonic Orchestra that I could make use of in Linux. Too bad the high-end sample libraries are only for Kontakt, but I digressed. Heh heh. :D
--Grayson Peddie

Music Interest: New Age w/ a mix of modern smooth jazz, light techno/trance & downtempo -- something Epcot Future World/Tomorrowland-flavored.

schnitzeltony
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 12:19 pm

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by schnitzeltony »

For the reason that github rebuilds tarballs from time to time and changes checksums Yocto forces me to load sources by git.

The release announcement says the commit ID of 3.1 is 50f4b71eab801aa49f35b66fdfdca9ab02e08238 but that does not seem available. Have fetched latest sources but same 50f4b71eab801aa49f35b66fdfdca9ab02e08238 is not known. What went wrong?

Rodney
Established Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by Rodney »

Cool! I wasn´t aware of Muse, just found out about it now with this post. Definitely checking it out. Thanks for releasing! :D

User avatar
d.healey
Established Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by d.healey »

Looks great, I'll check it out!
David Healey
Patreon - HISE scripting and sample library dev tutorials
Libre Wave - Freedom respecting instruments and effects.

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by spamatica »

schnitzeltony wrote:For the reason that github rebuilds tarballs from time to time and changes checksums Yocto forces me to load sources by git.

The release announcement says the commit ID of 3.1 is 50f4b71eab801aa49f35b66fdfdca9ab02e08238 but that does not seem available. Have fetched latest sources but same 50f4b71eab801aa49f35b66fdfdca9ab02e08238 is not known. What went wrong?
That is indeed very curious. It is the first time we are taking advantage of the release system on github and probably we did something wrong but not sure what yet. Checking out the tag should get the right commit anyway.

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by spamatica »

spamatica wrote:
schnitzeltony wrote:For the reason that github rebuilds tarballs from time to time and changes checksums Yocto forces me to load sources by git.

The release announcement says the commit ID of 3.1 is 50f4b71eab801aa49f35b66fdfdca9ab02e08238 but that does not seem available. Have fetched latest sources but same 50f4b71eab801aa49f35b66fdfdca9ab02e08238 is not known. What went wrong?
That is indeed very curious. It is the first time we are taking advantage of the release system on github and probably we did something wrong but not sure what yet. Checking out the tag should get the right commit anyway.
Now I think it's ok. It occurred to me that I likely only had done 'git push --tags', did a standard push now and it looks like it worked.

schnitzeltony
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 12:19 pm

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by schnitzeltony »

Now I think it's ok. It occurred to me that I likely only had done 'git push --tags', did a standard push now and it looks like it worked.
Yes indeed: Now the commit is on master.

Thanks for this and the new release - will fire up my build machine now :)

User avatar
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by oscillator »

MusE is an awesome piece of software. It works beautifully with soft synths/midi, as well as for recording audio tracks.

Here are some different examples of music I've produced with just MusE and soft synths, including recording vocals, mixing and some light mastering.

1. A heavily sequenced song, with a bunch of synth plugins and two voice tracks.

https://youtu.be/AGlaXP3ey40

2. More traditional stuff:
A. Lars Domino - Täcken utav is: https://youtu.be/P-y_u3Qrzxc
B. Lars Domino - En sista dans: https://youtu.be/1ZQHEntSdBw

I run MusE on Debian 10 with xfce4.
MusE DAW running on Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4.
https://oscillator.se/musik

Rodney
Established Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 3:56 pm

Re: MusE 3.1 released

Post by Rodney »

Definite it checking this one out. Thanks a bunch for.this.release!

Post Reply