Software Amplifier for Blues Harmonica (Harp)

Discuss anything new and newsworthy! See http://planet.linuxaudio.org and https://libreav.org/news for more Linux Audio News!

Announcements of proprietary software may fit better in the Marketplace.

Moderators: raboof, MattKingUSA, khz

Bubishi

Software Amplifier for Blues Harmonica (Harp)

Post by Bubishi »

Hello,

I started learning harp some time ago, now I wan't to try amplified playing. Normally people use valve or transistor amps, mostly designed for guitar players. Searching the internet let me stumble upon guitarix, which uses Jack. But I have problems with getting sound out of jack (ubuntu 16.04), I only get quirky noise from the mic, and I'm completly new to making music with linux.

So before digging deeper in problems with jack, I thought it might be helpful asking you for alternatives - maybe you would recommend some other programs for playing amplified harp, maybe you would not recommend using guitarix for harp at all?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Kind regards,
Bubishi
eric71
Established Member

Re: Software Amplifier for Blues Harmonica (Harp)

Post by eric71 »

If you add the KXStudio repos, you can use Carla (which can use alsa) to load lv2 or vst plugins. So you could load Guitarix lv2 plugins in there, or something simpler like the MDA Combo might be a good plugin to try for harp.
eikakot
Established Member

Post by eikakot »

I had good results with guitarix on harmonica and I'd recommend to fix whatever is preventing you from using jack
glowrak guy
Established Member

Post by glowrak guy »

What interface is your mic using? If it's a laptop combo jack,
meaning mic sometimes, and line level other times, you'll want to
aim for a higher quality i/o, and such laptop or motherboard hardware
is often not well implemented.

In the meantime, or if my guess is wrong, this tutorial will get you familiar with jackd,
and qjackctl gui:

http://libremusicproduction.com/article ... arted-jack