[ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Discuss anything new and newsworthy!

Moderators: raboof, khz, MattKingUSA

ssj71
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1215
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

[ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby ssj71 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:45 pm

The bail has been paid! The come what may places release is now live!

https://github.com/ssj71/infamousPlugins/releases

Many many thanks to all donors who helped make this happen!

Now go, get creative!
http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins/
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 2078
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby funkmuscle » Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:29 am

thank for the release ssj71. problems running it on Arch64 and Ardour-4.4.
when I launch the GUI, it acts like if it took a snapshot of Ardour. I don't get the plugin.
Launches find in Carla.

Joermungand
Establlshed Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby Joermungand » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:23 am

Yeah, I can confirm the exact same behaviour.

ssj71
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1215
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby ssj71 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 5:15 pm

I cannot reproduce this using Ardour 4.4.143 on kxstudio. The gui works perfectly for me. It must be some difference between the ardour build, the plugin build, or possibly NTK, SUIL, or even gtk. Do all the other infamous plugin GUIs work fine? Does ardour crash or just the UI doesn't show?
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

Joermungand
Establlshed Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby Joermungand » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:01 pm

Ardour version here is 4.4.0. Apart from lush, all other Infamous plugins that have a GUI work. Quite astoundingly, Ardour seems to lag behind in Arch… :(

ssj71
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1215
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby ssj71 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:35 pm

Does the terminal have any output when you load the plugin and open the UI(run ardour from the terminal)?

Can one of you test with jalv.gtk? Carla uses qt so it might be a toolkit issue.

I spoke with ardour devs and they think it could also be a gcc4 vs gcc5 issue as well. Any chance of that?
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6549
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby falkTX » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:49 pm

I think it might be suil.
the latest stable version is quite old now and misses a few critical fixes.

Joermungand
Establlshed Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby Joermungand » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:58 pm

The GUI show up just fine in jalv.gtk. Absolutely no terminal output – either when I load the plugin or when I open the GUI window. Also, sometimes Ardour crashes, sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes it only crashes when I close the GUI window. ‘Curious and curiouser’.

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 2078
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby funkmuscle » Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:02 pm

Hmm, the gcc5 thing could be possible.

ssj71
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1215
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby ssj71 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:32 pm

so another arch user tested and confirmed that it doesn't work with ardour 4.4.0 but DOES work with A4.4.489. So for now if you can update ardour, that will make it useable. I think I know the issue, but it will be a bit before I can fix it.

EDIT: good news, its fixed now in latest git master. I have one more outstanding issue with qtractor, that I also cannot reproduce :( Once thats resolved I'll make a new release.
Last edited by ssj71 on Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 2078
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby funkmuscle » Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:33 pm

ssj71 wrote:so another arch user tested and confirmed that it doesn't work with ardour 4.4.0 but DOES work with A4.4.489. So for now if you can update ardour, that will make it useable. I think I know the issue, but it will be a bit before I can fix it.


isn't 4.4 the latest version of Ardour?

ssj71
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1215
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby ssj71 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:00 pm

funkmuscle wrote:
isn't 4.4 the latest version of Ardour?

thats the latest major revision. There were some changes between minor versions (so between 4.4.0 and 4.4.143) that fixed it. But if you didn't see the edit of the post above:

good news, its fixed now in latest git master. I have one more outstanding issue with qtractor, that I also cannot reproduce :( Once thats resolved I'll make a new release.
ANOTHER EDIT: master of infamous plugins. So now it will work in ardour 4.4.0
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 2078
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby funkmuscle » Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:18 pm

ssj71 wrote:
funkmuscle wrote:
isn't 4.4 the latest version of Ardour?

thats the latest major revision. There were some changes between minor versions (so between 4.4.0 and 4.4.143) that fixed it. But if you didn't see the edit of the post above:

good news, its fixed now in latest git master. I have one more outstanding issue with qtractor, that I also cannot reproduce :( Once thats resolved I'll make a new release.
ANOTHER EDIT: master of infamous plugins. So now it will work in ardour 4.4.0


yep, the plugin loads now but no sound. Maybe I'm missing something?? It didn't have sound when you first announced it before the GUI either. Hit bypass and I hear the track.

User avatar
GMaq
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1281
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby GMaq » Thu Dec 17, 2015 3:45 am

Hi,

I also tried the plugin quickly with Mixbus 3 (an interim gcc5 release) on a vocal harmony track and I encountered the same situation, the GUI works fine however no audio passed through the plugin unless it was bypassed.

ssj71
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1215
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: [ANN] Infamous Plugins v0.2.0 Released!

Postby ssj71 » Thu Dec 17, 2015 5:29 pm

GMaq wrote:Hi,

no audio passed through the plugin unless it was bypassed.

Did you try changing any parameters? Loading a preset? Wha sample rate? If I can reproduce the issue I can fix it.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!


Return to “New Linux Music News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests