Not a fan of Rhythmbox, better alternatives? Also Song Stores / buying music / not streaming

Music trends, latest album reviews...whatever!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

DrMeatball
Established Member

Not a fan of Rhythmbox, better alternatives? Also Song Stores / buying music / not streaming

Post by DrMeatball »

Bear with me I'm new to linux and multimedia coming from itunes/music land. I've totally jumped ship from Apple with an iphone to Ubuntu with a Oneplus 8T. Went full on zealot mode after getting sick of Windows and Mac privacy issues. [but i digress..]

What is everyone using if you aren't using Rhythmbox? Nothing really wrong with RB persay, just wondering if there's something better for integration with an Android phone as well as keeping a music library maintained (personal music library but also sorting and archiving bounces, etc)?

Secondly, with Google no longer selling music and itunes not being a Linux thing, where does everyone buy their music? I detest streaming and I will not pirate. No spotify. Suggestions?

edit

BONUS POINTS if there happens to be an Android companion Music app. Is DoubleTwist still a thing?
Last edited by DrMeatball on Fri Jun 04, 2021 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
sysrqer
Established Member

Re: Not a fan of Rhythmbox, better alternatives? Also Song Stores / buying music / not streaming

Post by sysrqer »

For me the best approach was to separate the the functions compared to all in one solutions on windows.

For library management I use puddletag, it's really powerful and can do batch file/folder naming if your tags are in order.