Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Post fully complete "how to" guides and tutorials here. This is a great place to get feedback on stuff you might put in the wiki.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:32 am

damm, found out that the problem is windows VISTA: http://music.columbia.edu/pipermail/por ... 07485.html

that could have been mentioned on the downloadpage of Jack for windows...

does anybody know a vst-host in windows which is jackafied?

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:51 pm

i picked an old pc and put a tight WIN_XP on it.

since i don't use Jack2 i downloaded jacknone for windows.
again the jackrouter.dll wasn't installed. Or it is still broken in jacknone or it was because i hadn't installed asio4all before!? nevertheless, i installed asio4all and Jack2 for windows. now the jackrouter.dll was installed and i can use it in jacknone too.

conection established. Ardour on linux-machine (of course the host).....Realguitar.exe on windowsmachine.
no x-runs with 128 frames/period and 3 periods/buffer wich gives me accaptable 8.71msec of latancy. recording from netjack with tracks silmutaniosly playing in ardour.
On Linux i could record with Realguitar only with 1024 frames/period and 3 periods/buffer wich results in 69.7 msec latancy!!!!!!!! Imagine record over some tracks with a latency like this. the sound only came out when i allready have left the keyboard-key.
of course, the conection is without compression - the two machines hang together on a switch wich is hooked on my router (100Mbit).

after that i installed a TightVNC-Server on the windows-machine.
Now I can control my "VST-Machine" from my Linux-Desktop (yeaaaaa)


pfoooooooooooo - NOW i can start making music!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thorgal
Established Member
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby thorgal » Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:38 pm

congrats :)
good effort is always rewarded :D

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:06 pm

thorgal wrote:congrats :)
good effort is always rewarded :D



thanks ;-)

the two machines could be conected with a cross-over-cable too, I read. But, do the 2 machines have IPs in a direct connection like that?

thorgal
Established Member
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby thorgal » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:49 pm

my guess is that your router is used as a DHCP server. If so, once your PCs get their IP address from it, they do not need to have stuff transfered via the router if they are connected directly to a switch (the switch being part of the LAN which the router serves).

The router is only there for a few services (DHCP, LAN-to-WAN, etc). The rest is probably unicast (address to address). But jack2 is using multicast, so that may well rule out the direct cross-over link.

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:53 pm

thorgal wrote:my guess is that your router is used as a DHCP server. If so, once your PCs get their IP address from it, they do not need to have stuff transfered via the router if they are connected directly to a switch (the switch being part of the LAN which the router serves).

The router is only there for a few services (DHCP, LAN-to-WAN, etc). The rest is probably unicast (address to address). But jack2 is using multicast, so that may well rule out the direct cross-over link.


I have a Wifi-Router. with the switch i have to conect it to the router and the 2 machines - 3 cables and a switch on the flor spreaded in half of the room. With the c-over-cable I would only have a small cable between 2 machines. ;-). I think I will buy a c-over adapter and try it out

User avatar
spm_gl
Established Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:58 am
Location: Spreewald, Germany
Contact:

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby spm_gl » Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:56 pm

As long as you have static IP's on the network interfaces, a crossover cable should work well. You could of course use one machine as the dhcp server, but that doesn't make sense in such a small setup.
--- Spreemusik ---
Jan Fuchsmann, Audio Engineer
Check our blog at http://www.spreemusik.com/blog

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Thu Mar 18, 2010 5:46 pm

anybody knows how i can connect a midi-output on a linux-machine via JAcknet to input on a midi-in on a windows-machine?

Jacknet provides midi-sending but i can't connect to a Windows-app in JAck

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:52 pm

Capoeira wrote:anybody knows how i can connect a midi-output on a linux-machine via JAcknet to input on a midi-in on a windows-machine?

Jacknet provides midi-sending but i can't connect to a Windows-app in JAck


so it isn't possible at the moment as wineasio (wich jack for windows uses to conect to windows-apps) doesn't support Jack-midi.

only solution i found for a crossplatform midi over ethernet is http://llg.cubic.org/tools/multimidicast/ on linux and http://bitbucket.org/moumar/multimidica ... /wiki/Home on windows.

i think i will just install seq24 on windows - easier

User avatar
spm_gl
Established Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:58 am
Location: Spreewald, Germany
Contact:

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby spm_gl » Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:58 pm

You could use puredata to convert midi to osc, send osc over the network, and convert back to midi.
I actually haven't found a really usable midi-over-ethernet solution yet, so let me know if it works.
--- Spreemusik ---
Jan Fuchsmann, Audio Engineer
Check our blog at http://www.spreemusik.com/blog

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:38 am

spm_gl wrote:You could use puredata to convert midi to osc, send osc over the network, and convert back to midi.
I actually haven't found a really usable midi-over-ethernet solution yet, so let me know if it works.


oo, thats to many efford for me. i don't know nor puredata nor osc.

i feel like i am 90% tweeking things and only 10% of my time i can make music :-(

did you try multimidicast?????

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Sat May 15, 2010 5:51 am

does anybody have jack 1.9.5 for windows files or an alternative link? the link on the page is not working: http://jackaudio.org/download ......trying it for more than 24h hours now

thorgal
Established Member
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby thorgal » Sat May 15, 2010 10:18 am

hi there,

rapidshare.com sucks but here you go:

Download Link:

http://rapidshare.com/files/387568806/j ... 5.tgz.html

(check the md5sum which should be E49605CA0311C1288E25D44A57258C6B. Once you have downloaded it, just type :

Code: Select all

md5sum jack-1.9.5.tgz


and compare the resulting number with the above. I don't know whether you can do this as well in windoze.)

User avatar
Capoeira
Established Member
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby Capoeira » Sun May 16, 2010 3:05 am

thorgal wrote:hi there,

rapidshare.com sucks but here you go:

Download Link:

http://rapidshare.com/files/387568806/j ... 5.tgz.html

(check the md5sum which should be E49605CA0311C1288E25D44A57258C6B. Once you have downloaded it, just type :

Code: Select all

md5sum jack-1.9.5.tgz


and compare the resulting number with the above. I don't know whether you can do this as well in windoze.)


you are the man

thanks a lot ;-)

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 791
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: Netjack2 or how to expand your studio

Postby khz » Sat Aug 11, 2018 1:27 pm

FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
    I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.


Return to “HOW TOs, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest