d8b

Discuss your workplace, instruments, amps, and any other gear.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
User avatar
spm_gl
Established Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:58 am
Location: Spreewald, Germany
Contact:

d8b

Post by spm_gl »

So we've got a Mackie d8b now. Anyone ever connected this beast to ardour? I'll let you know how I manage 8)
Ours has 3 adat i/o, so I'll connect them through a RME card, giving me 24 tracks digital. Not sure how I'll handle the automation yet, I haven't had the time to play with the midi side of the thing.
--- Spreemusik ---
Jan Fuchsmann, Audio Engineer
Check our blog at http://www.spreemusik.com/blog

User avatar
spm_gl
Established Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:58 am
Location: Spreewald, Germany
Contact:

Re: d8b

Post by spm_gl »

Guess I'll have to help myself :-)
Connecting it via ADAT was no problem whatsoever. Currently I'm fighting Ardour's MTC and MMC config. But I guess I'll need to install 2.8.4 first anyway, because of the MTC loop bug.
Oh, and ejecting a DVD while Ardour runs caused a crash. Weird stuff.
--- Spreemusik ---
Jan Fuchsmann, Audio Engineer
Check our blog at http://www.spreemusik.com/blog

User avatar
Jan
Established Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:48 am

Re: d8b

Post by Jan »

I would love to help, but I have no idea how to set up a d8b. Though I would like to have one! ;-)
The more it stays the same, the less it changes

User avatar
spm_gl
Established Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:58 am
Location: Spreewald, Germany
Contact:

Re: d8b

Post by spm_gl »

You could solder the analog connections... :lol: Actually, I hope I can condemn my course participants to do that as a learning experience :wink:
The setup is starting to work well. I still don't understand ardour's midi port configuration though, so I manage to crash it quite often.
Now I need to think of a cool way of integrating the whole setup to a killer surround video mixing workplace. For mastering, I'll need to cover the d8b for acoustical reasons. For really large projects (anyone have a really large project to mix? At least 60 tracks, to video?) I could do submixes in ardour, controlled via midi from the d8b, mix them in the d8b, and record the bus outputs in ardour again.
Is there a really good reverb for linux yet? In surround, of course? I could configure some of the aux sends to control ardour's sends instead, so the reverb path could stay in the computer.
--- Spreemusik ---
Jan Fuchsmann, Audio Engineer
Check our blog at http://www.spreemusik.com/blog

User avatar
Jan
Established Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:48 am

Re: d8b

Post by Jan »

spm_gl wrote:You could solder the analog connections... :lol: Actually, I hope I can condemn my course participants to do that as a learning experience :wink:
:-)

Soldering is very useful, but I am an absolute amateur. A good friend of mine miraculously repaired my Engl amp after the fan failed and therefore the tube sockets melted. That was impressive, I couldn't have done that - I am perfectly fine with making the occasional cable here and there.
The more it stays the same, the less it changes

User avatar
spm_gl
Established Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:58 am
Location: Spreewald, Germany
Contact:

Re: d8b

Post by spm_gl »

Got it all working smoothly at last. Sometimes the ancient MTC/MMC combination works best.
Here's some details, for those interested:
http://blog.spreemusik.com/2009/12/audi ... p/?lang=en

The computer is a stock UbuntuStudio 9.10 (Karmic) installation on an Intel Core2Duo, graphic card is some ATI radeon thingymagick.
--- Spreemusik ---
Jan Fuchsmann, Audio Engineer
Check our blog at http://www.spreemusik.com/blog

Post Reply