Anyone used a Yamaha MG10XU usb class 2 compliant mixer?

Discuss your workplace, instruments, amps, and any other gear.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

gauger

Anyone used a Yamaha MG10XU usb class 2 compliant mixer?

Post by gauger »

I'm thinking about getting one of these, but haven't found anything positive about using with linux, which doesn't bode well. It is however apparently USB Audio Class 2.0 compliant, so what are my chances of it working ?

https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudi ... specs.html

Thanks in advance for any experiences shared.
thumbknuckle
Established Member

Re: Anyone used a Yamaha MG10XU usb class 2 compliant mixer?

Post by thumbknuckle »

Hey man,

This is an older thread, so it's likely you have already made a decision, but just in case you or someone else could use some input:

If it's class compliant it should work, I can't speak to that as I've never tried, but:

I am a live audio engineer and I sometimes find myself mixing on MG series mixers and my experiences have not been positive. I kinda hate the things and I'm pretty good about rolling with whatever is on hand. I don't know how much of it is the EQ and how much of it is just the basic sonics of the micamp and the bus summing, but it's harder to get stuff sounding right with those things than with comparable products from Soundcraft or Allen and Heath or even Mackie. Come to think of it the things I don't like about it are similar to the things I don't like about a Mackie VLZ, except maybe worse.

I like Yamaha stuff in general. The LS9 and M7CL are both industry standard workhorses. Really don't like the MG series stuff.

Just throwing that out there as a totally unscientific impression.
Faster than a laser bullet.
Louder than an atom bomb.
WforWoollyMammoth
Established Member

Post by WforWoollyMammoth »