My list of too much gear.

Discuss your workplace, instruments, amps, and any other gear.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Digital Larry
Established Member

My list of too much gear.

Post by Digital Larry »

I've been doing computer based MIDI sequencing since around 1984 when I wrote my own sequencer program from scratch under DOS. Added audio recording some time back.

Here's my list of gear, and I do use most of it at some point in the year. I hope I can retire in order to spend more time at it!

The current center of my setup, since I play guitar and bass mostly, is the Avid Eleven Rack. It's a bit out of date and large and heavy and it is just great so far. Took me awhile to get some nice clean tones but I like the ease of use of the UI.

For MIDI controllers, I have an Arturia Beatstep Pro and Keystation 32. I'm not super into techno which these seem to lean towards (16 step patterns, forwards/backwards/pendulum mode playback, stutter, arpeggiator, etc.) but I've gotten some interesting results.

I'm using the McMillen Softstep with my Ubuntu Studio/SooperLooper/Hydrogen setup. I have a Behringer FCB-1010 with the Eureka ROM that works very well with the Eleven Rack, and a MIDI Buddy program change footswitch sort of sitting there wondering when someone will call on it. I also have this very small Samson MIDI controller with an octave's worth of trigger pads and some knobs. I took that on some vacations but the pads almost always double or triple trigger and many people report the same. So I've set that one aside. I took the Keystation on my last vacation.

I have a Behringer UMC-404 audio interface and also the XR-18 wireless mixer which is currently attached to my W-word machine. Previously I had owned a couple Focusrite Scarlett audio interfaces, both of which worked quite well.

Guitars and basses. I sold quite a few last year so forget about those.
Yamaha AES-800
G&L S-500 Tribute
Squier Deluxe Jazzmaster