Hoping to stay a Linux user

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Battlecate
Established Member

Hoping to stay a Linux user

Post by Battlecate »

Hello:

I am from the north east of the United States. I am a long time Linux user. I have been using Linux as my primary OS since 2003.

I am hoping to continue to use Linux for audio/ Music production as much as I love to use it for video, photography, and illustration.

I am trying, in vain at the moment, to use my Akai MPK mini and Yamaha PSR e223. So far midi is just miserable. Yet I am doing my best to stick to Linux for now.
Basslint
Established Member

Re: Hoping to stay a Linux user

Post by Basslint »

Hello and welcome! What programs are you using for MIDI input?
The community of believers was of one heart and mind, and no one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they had everything in common. [Acts 4:32]

Please donate time (even bug reports) or money to libre software 🎁

Jam on openSUSE + GeekosDAW!
Gps
Established Member

Post by Gps »

I do not know if all features are supported in LMMS, but this midi keyboard is listed as working in LMMS.

So at least recording the midi data from the Akai MPK mini works in LMMS.
Gps
Established Member

Post by Gps »

I do not know if all features are supported in LMMS, but this midi keyboard is listed as working in LMMS.

So at least recording the midi data works in LMMS.

A bit confusing topic:

https://lmms.io/forum/viewtopic.php?t=33545

This one seems less positive:
Now I am confused.

https://www.reddit.com/r/lmms/comments/ ... mini_pads/
Battlecate
Established Member

Post by Battlecate »

Hello GPS:

I found that the AKAI MPK2 midi controller seems to work fine. Not the best but what do you get for $100.00? LMMS 1.3+ detects the controller and lists it as AKAI MPK so it is easy to ID.