Greets From the Gulf Coast, US

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

a.d.
Established Member

Greets From the Gulf Coast, US

Post by a.d. »

Hello:
I've been reading these forums for a few years and decided to register. I was introduced to Linux in the late nineties and have been a musician for longer. Hopefully I'll be able to contribute a bit back.

I'm primarily a guitarist and singer, often of the heavier and more progressive side of music. I tend abbreviate my style as punk. I've lived most of my life on the US East Coast and very much enjoy playing and attending shows. There's a lot of overlap in ideology with the D.I.Y. punk scene and Linux. More recently I've moved to a rural area and find myself indoors due to the pandemic. While I still have opportunities to work with others, I don't yet feel safe doing so.

At the patient urging of a friend, I've embraced using a computer to continue working on music. I use Debian 10 with the real time kernel for recording, and Fedora 33 for most of my editing and drum programming. I primarily use Reaper as my DAW with the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 interface. I wasn't able to make EZdrummer 2 work in any meaningful manner in Linux however I happened to stumble upon the amazing DrumGizmo.

I have been using DrumGizmo with JamePeters Tchackpoum drumkit: viewtopic.php?f=55&t=21233. Web searches show there are many who aim to get EZdrummer 2 working in Linux with varying degrees of success. I'd urge them to try DrumGizmo. I'm quite surprised the software isn't more widely known.

While I'm pretty happy with my progress using Linux for audio, I still have much to learn.

Cheers!
Basslint
Established Member

Re: Greets From the Gulf Coast, US

Post by Basslint »

Welcome aboard :D Glad to hear your feedback on Drumgizmo, it's somewhat of an underrated program given what and how it does!