Just a disabled man writing music

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

lr51

Just a disabled man writing music

Post by lr51 »

Greetings from Toronto. I'm LR51. You've never heard of me and that's because I am new. I am a visually challenged musician trying to use Linux for the first time to write music. Due to being disabled I don't have many resources and free software really makes life better. I can play games, surf the web, learn things, and even write music. So far I have tried LMMS but had some trouble due to bugs. I have read a few posts so far and decided to join as people here seem genuinely into musicianship. I would like to put together an album of original songs all written in Linux to show how beneficial free software is for us disabled folks. All proceeds I wish to donate to Special Olympics. I will no doubt have many questions but will strive to read all the forums written before me where applicable.

Thanks for all the help so far. I have so far learned about Qtractor, reaper, ardour and similar DAWs which I never knew existed before. I look forward to hearing more useful advice as I ask potentially silly questions. I use Ubuntu and think a music-only distribution makes sense for a very limited amount of people, those with a dedicated studio hardware. Music tools should all work out of the box on all distributions. So I will be looking for tips and tricks in that regard.
Flan_TheDude
Established Member

Re: Just a disabled man writing music

Post by Flan_TheDude »

Hello LR51 from a fellow forum newbie. I hope the forums help you find what you need to know :)
Hardware synth explorer and Linux obsessive. Using Ardour, Dragonfly Reverb, Linux Studio Plugins, airwindows and Calf Studio Gear plugins, Roland Rubix 44 USB interface and Lenovo ThinkPads.
Basslint
Established Member

Post by Basslint »