Hello everyone!

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

jorymil

Hello everyone!

Post by jorymil »

Hi there folks, I'm John. I'm a Linux sysadmin by profession, and have been playing the trombone off and on since I was ten years old. Looking forward to meeting people here who know about which audio devices work well under Linux; in exchange, I can offer advice about Linux itself.
Linuxmusician01
Established Member

Re: Hello everyone!

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

jorymil wrote:Hi there folks, I'm John. I'm a Linux sysadmin by profession, and have been playing the trombone off and on since I was ten years old. Looking forward to meeting people here who know about which audio devices work well under Linux; in exchange, I can offer advice about Linux itself.
Welcome! I know of a series of cheap USB audio devices which are class compliant: the Behringer U-Phoria ones (well, most of them at least). I've got the 404: 4 in, 4 out. Enables you to record 4 separate audio tracks at once in a DAW. Costs about € 100.

Good luck! :)
tavasti
Established Member

Post by tavasti »

jorymil wrote:Looking forward to meeting people here who know about which audio devices work well under Linux
I have Alesis io2 and io4, both work ok.

Linux veteran & Novice musician

Latest track: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycVrgGtrBmM

Nachei
Established Member

Post by Nachei »

Welcome and thank you for offering the quid-pro-quo (I'm certainly more musician than Linux, but Linux is, by far, the least annoying of the 3 OS for my taste).