Hello from a Swedish hobby programmer

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

joelkp
Established Member

Hello from a Swedish hobby programmer

Post by joelkp »

Hello!

I've been interested in sound since childhood, but I'm not a musician. I've also been a hobby programmer since my teens, and experimented for some years with making my own filters/"effects".

On and off, I've worked on making a command-line audio synthesis program. (Currently, it basically provides a simplistic scripting language for tone generation with FM/PM/AM support, though I hope to one day make it expressive enough to actually use to write music with.) After first releasing it in 2012 (but failing to get the word out about it), and then time passing, and then cleaning up the code over the last year and a half, I decided it's about time to explore communities and see if there's any interest.

Actually, I first signed up for the wiki, since it seems contributions are welcome, in order to add the link, but the password email came in completely blank (same thing after trying to get the wiki to send a new password).

Anyway, this place also seems like a start for exploring what's "out there", in terms of communities. I don't know much about what audio-related communities there are - apart from KVR Audio, where I discussed DSP effects and such programming a bit over a decade ago (as the audio-programming newbie I was, and still am compared to many developers there). Since then, I've moved on to using open source OSes (not only Linux but also the BSDs). KVR Audio is still a good place to revisit for more mainstream stuff, I think, but here you have a focus on open/free/libre software.

I'm also looking for some inspiration and ideas, though I don't actually have a clear aim regarding what I hope to discuss. But after a pretty depressed period, I figure it's about time to get "unstuck", and for a start that means looking around.