Hello all!

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Dominique
Established Member

Hello all!

Post by Dominique »

Hi all!

I am an old linux user from Switzerland. I am using linux audio from many years ago, now on gentoo.

Happy to finally be gere!
Michael Willis
Established Member

Re: Hello all!

Post by Michael Willis »

Dominique wrote:Hi all!
Hi Dominique! Ages ago I went through a Gentoo phase, but for about three last 12 years I've been running things in the Debian family. Then in 2015 I started learning in earnest about music production on Linux. I must admit that I have sometimes wondered if Gentoo would help in the quest for ever lower latencies, but for now I am content with a heavily modified Elementary OS on my music machine. I'm curious about how you configure Gentoo for making music, and what results you get.
Dominique
Established Member

Re: Hello all!

Post by Dominique »

Michael Willis wrote:
Dominique wrote:Hi all!
Hi Dominique! Ages ago I went through a Gentoo phase, but for about three last 12 years I've been running things in the Debian family. Then in 2015 I started learning in earnest about music production on Linux. I must admit that I have sometimes wondered if Gentoo would help in the quest for ever lower latencies, but for now I am content with a heavily modified Elementary OS on my music machine. I'm curious about how you configure Gentoo for making music, and what results you get.
Hi Michael! For now, it is 2 gentoo overlay for the audio. The old pro-audio overlay and a new proaudio overlay. It is also gentoo studio which is more or less the equivalent of debian multimedia or ubuntu studio.