Upgrading during a project

Completely and utterly unrelated.

Moderators: raboof, MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Upgrading during a project

Post by MattKingUSA »

I got a new system and wanted to imort my ardour project files over from my ubuntu studio 16.04 to my new machine but could not find a 16.04 image quickly enough so I downloaded 17.04 because I was so exited about my new system and wanted to use it. Just a suggestion. Terrible idea: never update your software in the middle of a project. I had to import my projects with effects turned off and remove them and start over. And this is months of work and after hiring musicians to to record on tracks etc. So, I knew this before hand but got in a hurry. So just to confirm, dont do it. :)

Had to move this. I had it posted under wrong topic. Woops
-Matt

User avatar
ufug
Established Member
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:28 am
Location: East Bay

Re: Upgrading during a project

Post by ufug »

OUCH! A good reminder. Hope you have a smooth recovery, sounds like you'll have you hands full.
listenable at sugargas.info

User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Post by MattKingUSA »

The project files are alright other than plugins. The new ardour tried to import them but failed. :/
-Matt

User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Post by MattKingUSA »

But a lot of the plugins dont work in the new ardour as well. They just crash.
-Matt

User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Post by MattKingUSA »

I did a fresh install of ubuntu studio 17.04 I didn't change anything, just updated system after install with current updates.
-Matt

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 996
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Post by Michael Willis »

What plugins does your project use?

Post Reply