Upgrading during a project

Completely and utterly unrelated.

Moderators: raboof, khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Upgrading during a project

Postby MattKingUSA » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:26 pm

I got a new system and wanted to imort my ardour project files over from my ubuntu studio 16.04 to my new machine but could not find a 16.04 image quickly enough so I downloaded 17.04 because I was so exited about my new system and wanted to use it. Just a suggestion. Terrible idea: never update your software in the middle of a project. I had to import my projects with effects turned off and remove them and start over. And this is months of work and after hiring musicians to to record on tracks etc. So, I knew this before hand but got in a hurry. So just to confirm, dont do it. :)

Had to move this. I had it posted under wrong topic. Woops
-Matt

ufug
Established Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:28 am

Re: Upgrading during a project

Postby ufug » Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:10 pm

OUCH! A good reminder. Hope you have a smooth recovery, sounds like you'll have you hands full.

User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Postby MattKingUSA » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:57 pm

The project files are alright other than plugins. The new ardour tried to import them but failed. :/
-Matt

User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Postby MattKingUSA » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:58 pm

But a lot of the plugins dont work in the new ardour as well. They just crash.
-Matt

User avatar
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Choctaw Nation, OK
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Postby MattKingUSA » Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:33 am

I did a fresh install of ubuntu studio 17.04 I didn't change anything, just updated system after install with current updates.
-Matt

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Upgrading during a project

Postby Michael Willis » Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:39 am

What plugins does your project use?


Return to “Backstage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest