LMMS: connect to other apps?

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby raboof » Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:32 pm

funkmuscle wrote:but on XP, it runs amazingly. This app is not made for linux.


For an app named 'Linux MultiMedia Studio', that's funny in a sad way.

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby funkmuscle » Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:33 pm

my works exactly.......
I think if we remove support for vst, it runs better. I read that somewhere but can't remember the link.

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby funkmuscle » Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:05 am

completely cleaned out all existing LMMS files on my system then reinstalled the latest version... I am now truly amazed by this app which runs amazingly with alsa. No pops or cracks or crashing...

User avatar
Claudio
Established Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:58 pm
Location: Miami, FL.

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby Claudio » Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:49 pm

LMMS 0.3.x was definitely not ready for regular use IMO, but their 0.4.x release is much more stable and much better at handling anything you throw at it. Plus, it's much easier on the eyes. ;)
"You must first control your voltage before you can oscillate."

User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2370
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby studio32 » Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:36 pm

Claudio wrote:LMMS 0.3.x was definitely not ready for regular use IMO, but their 0.4.x release is much more stable and much better at handling anything you throw at it. Plus, it's much easier on the eyes. ;)


And what about JACK support??

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby funkmuscle » Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:22 pm

sux with jack still... It has never worked with jack... The xruns are rediculous and it runs slower than the actual bpm. I now create the tune in LMMS and then export it. Then import into Ardour when I add guitars, etc......

SR
Established Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby SR » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:54 am

Still works like crap with Alsa on my Fedora 8 machine.

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby funkmuscle » Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:27 am

remove all LMMS files...Not too sure how the rpm installs but there is a file called install-list.txt or something.... That list all that is installed by LMMS. Remove them and reinstall... version 0.4.2...

SR
Established Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby SR » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:08 pm

funkmuscle wrote:remove all LMMS files...Not too sure how the rpm installs but there is a file called install-list.txt or something.... That list all that is installed by LMMS. Remove them and reinstall... version 0.4.2...


I had removed the rpm a long time ago. Removing an rpm leaves nothing behind other than whatever the app leaves in your home directory (confirmed this with "locate"). I cleaned that stuff out, built it from source and installed .4.2 under /usr/local. Doesn't work at all with jack, sucks with Alsa, but works fine with OSS.

User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: LMMS: connect to other apps?

Postby funkmuscle » Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:48 pm

that was exactly the issue I had and no one would help. The dude who built the package for my distro would not help, the LMMS forum and mailing list would not help so like I mentioned earlier, I installed it on my wife's XP as I needed to put some hiphop beats together for a friend....

Dunno why it started to work because I swear I did all the removing of files many times before... Only thing I could thing of is I may of missed files here and there the other times... I didn't use locate until the last time...


Return to “Recorders & Sequencers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests