Which DAW?

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

scott.thomason
Established Member

Which DAW?

Post by scott.thomason »

Hi all. After a 15-year break, I'm about to dive into audio recording again. Of course, almost everything has changed for the better. My question to you is: which DAW should I dive into and master?

The three I'm considering right now are LMMS, Ardour, and Reaper. I am open to others that are of similar quality. Let me tell you a few things about myself to help you guide me in the right direction:

* I don't do live, multi-instrument recording. I record one, maybe two tracks at a time, usually all by myself, and then layer things together.

* I'm a professional computer geek, technology doesn't intimidate me at all. That said, ease of use is nice. But I'm just as comfortable coding.

* My preferred OS is Linux. Right now I'm running the latest version of Mint, the Liquorix kernel, and a grab-bag of software from the Mint/Ubuntu repos plus things from KXstudio and similar. I'm comfortable tweaking the OS, for example, I've managed to get my JACK latency down to 1.3ms by fiddling with things.

* I prefer cross-platform tools that work on Linux, Windows, and MacOS so I can help my friends out.

* Being able to perform and/or edit over the internet would be quite useful, but not mandatory.

* I'm primarily a guitar player. For percussion, I normally use samples instead of recording live. I'm also fascinated by software instruments, synths and simulations and so on.

* I don't need/want formal music notation. I know how to read music, but I'm not fluent and I don't like it. When I learn songs on guitar, I play by ear.

* I would prefer to have a sequencer built into the DAW like the old FL Studio/Fruity Loops had, but it's not mandatory if I can get good integration from a separate sequencer. I guess that means I like piano rolls?