MusE - How to sync sequencer tracks?

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

mr_happy
Established Member

MusE - How to sync sequencer tracks?

Post by mr_happy »

Hello, complete newb to MusE here, hope someone can give me a clue to how to do this...

First, my simple setup is like this: Arturia Keystep -> Volca FM -> Behringer Uphoria UM2 -> MuseE and I can record audio with no problems.

Lets say the first sequence is a repeating bass-line and I'd like to trigger (in sync) a second sequence (or maybe play a sample) beginning after say 4 repetitions of the bass line.

To record the first sequence I begin record then start the sequence on the Keystep, meaning there's silence at the start. Recording live over this is fine but how would I start a second sequence in sync with the first? I'm guessing there's a better way of beginning the recording and some sort of clock signal that can be used to trigger a second 'instrument' (sequence or sample)?

Any help appreciated!

TIA
spamatica
Established Member

Re: MusE - How to sync sequencer tracks?

Post by spamatica »

Hi mr_happy

It isn't clear from your description if you have any midi connection between the Arturia step and MusE?

As both MusE and the Arturia Step have sequencers you need to decide which if these should be the master (the other will be slave) and have the master send syncronization messages over midi to keep the other in lock-step. MusE supports being both master and slave and MTC and Midi Clock variants. Midi Clock is the simpler solution, I believe.

Lookup what features the Arturia step support related to synchronization and find a combination that both parts support in a master->slave configuration.

And check out the dialog under Settings->Midi Sync for MusEs sync settings.

This subject is a bit hairy and it can take a few tries before you get it right. But in short, midi connection in between and find a common sync protocol to test.
MusE DAW