Can't build JackMix

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
User avatar
Louigi Verona
Established Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:56 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Can't build JackMix

Post by Louigi Verona »

Hey guys!
Tried to install JackMix.

Here's what the terminal says:
scons: Reading SConscript files ...
Configuring qt4muc...
/home/louigi/Desktop/jackmix-0.4.1/admin/qt4muc.py:341: DeprecationWarning: os.popen3 is deprecated. Use the subprocess module.
out = os.popen3( app )
Checking if the output of 'moc -v' contains 'Qt 4.' (cached) yes
Checking if the output of 'uic -v' contains '4.' (cached) yes
Checking if the output of 'rcc -v' contains '4.' (cached) yes
Done. Will define a more or less automatic environment to do all the qt-specific stuff.
Checking for C header file stdio.h... yes
Checking for C++ header file iostream... no
User avatar
GarryO
Established Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by GarryO »

Hi, Louigi. Do you have libstdc++versionnumber-dev installed?
User avatar
Louigi Verona
Established Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:56 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by Louigi Verona »

Checked - yep, it is installed.
User avatar
GarryO
Established Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by GarryO »

mmm! well that was the most obvious one. I've just tried to build jackmix here and it didn't fail where yours did. A file search here turns up a few options: do you have libboost-iostreams-x.xx-dev installed ?
User avatar
Louigi Verona
Established Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:56 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by Louigi Verona »

This wasn't installed. Installed - tried building JackMix - same error.
User avatar
GarryO
Established Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by GarryO »

the only other development library i have installed that includes a file "iostream" is libglibmm-x.x-dev.
User avatar
Louigi Verona
Established Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:56 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by Louigi Verona »

Eh. Unfortunately, this did not help - I still get the same error.
User avatar
GarryO
Established Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by GarryO »

Did you try running ldconfig (as root) after installing those libs? (not usually necessary, though, unless you're installing from source.)

Sorry I couldn't be of more help, Louigi.
One final suggestion: consider subscribing to the linux.audio.users list:
http://lists.linuxaudio.org/mailman/lis ... audio-user
I access it via http://news.gmane.org/

Jackmix's author Arnold Krille is a regular poster on the list. If he can't help you ...

all the best, G.
User avatar
kaimerra
Established Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:41 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by kaimerra »

This may be too basic, but it never hurts. did you install the "build-essential" package? That usually covers most C/Cpp libs.

Also, SCons sometimes caches build data. I forget what the option is off the top of my head, but its something like --no-cache , but you can find it in the help/manpage.
User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Contact:

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by raboof »

I can reproduce this error. When a scons check fails, you can check cache/config.log to see what exactly it tried. It reads:

Code: Select all

file /tmp/jackmix-0.4.1/SConstruct,line 18:
        Configure(confdir = cache)
scons: Configure: Checking for C header file stdio.h...
cache/conftest_0.c <-
  |
  |#include <stdio.h>
  |
  |
gcc -o cache/conftest_0.o -c cache/conftest_0.c
scons: Configure: yes

scons: Configure: Checking for C++ header file iostream...
cache/conftest_1.cpp <-
  |
  |#include <iostream>
  |
  |
g++ -o cache/conftest_1.o -c - W a l l " " - W e r r o r " " - g " " - f p i c cache/conftest_1.cpp
g++: W: No such file or directory
g++: a: No such file or directory
g++: l: No such file or directory
g++: l: No such file or directory
g++:  : No such file or directory
g++: W: No such file or directory
g++: e: No such file or directory
g++: r: No such file or directory
g++: r: No such file or directory
g++: o: No such file or directory
g++: r: No such file or directory
g++:  : No such file or directory
g++: g: No such file or directory
g++:  : No such file or directory
g++: f: No such file or directory
g++: p: No such file or directory
g++: i: No such file or directory
g++: c: No such file or directory
g++: cannot specify -o with -c or -S with multiple files
scons: Configure: no
The interesting bit is:

Code: Select all

g++ -o cache/conftest_1.o -c - W a l l " " - W e r r o r " " - g " " - f p i c cache/conftest_1.cpp
There seem to be spurious spaces inserted here. SConstruct contains:

Code: Select all

env['CXXFLAGS']+="-Wall -Werror -g -fpic"
Adding a

Code: Select all

print env['CXXFLAGS']
reveals this seems to be the culprit: it prints the string above with extra spaces. My python is rather rusty, but it appears there's something icky going on with the '+=' operator - perhaps it decides to turn the variable into a real 'character array' instead of a string or something. Insert rant about explicit type systems here ;). Changing the line above into the following takes care of the problem for me:

Code: Select all

env['CXXFLAGS'] = env['CXXFLAGS'] + " -Wall -Werror -g -fpic"
Perhaps this has something to do with the python version used - mine is 2.6.2.
User avatar
Louigi Verona
Established Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:56 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by Louigi Verona »

The developer (Arnold) emailed me the link to the working version. He also said he will not be working on JackMix anymore but focus on a more general matrix mixing project.

http://www.arnoldarts.de/drupal/files/d ... 4.2.tar.gz
This version compiled fine.

In case anyone's interested ;)
User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Contact:

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by raboof »

Louigi Verona wrote:The developer (Arnold) emailed me the link to the working version. He also said he will not be working on JackMix anymore
Any reason this link isn't on the jackmix site anymore? sounds useful.
but focus on a more general matrix mixing project.
Interesting - any links yet?
User avatar
Louigi Verona
Established Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:56 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Can't build JackMix

Post by Louigi Verona »

Yeah, he said something is wrong with his hosting and he can't update the site )

Nope, no links he left. I guess not a lot is ready yet.

Although without midi control that app to me is useless.
Post Reply