Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:45 am

I don't know what to make of the 'audition' example you posted above as I don't use that.

So can you see the tracks you want to hear showing a level in the master channel?

If you can I would check the JACK routing. What do you use to start JACK?

Screenshots could be helpful if you can do that.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby rghvdberg » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:46 am

Check alsamixer. Maybe your sound card uses separate outputs for headphone and amp.
When you plugin the headphone, the main out is muted. Ardour probably is still sending audio to the headphones.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:53 am

with Audition chosen the audio of the track plays and feedback and audition flash on the menu, but the bar doesn't move.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:56 am

'Feedback' would suggest there is some routing messed up.

I use Cadence to start JACK, and it has Catia to manage JACK connections :

CatiaPatchbay.png


From that you can see the metronome and the master outs are going to outs 1 and 2. Whatever you use to manage JACK there will be a similar program to manage JACK connections.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby rghvdberg » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:57 am

Feedback detected : kills all audio.
You've somehow connected an output to it's own input.
Either find the loop (it's hard probably) or start with a clean session.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:58 am

I didn't have alsamixer installed, I installed it and chose headphones not muted and I hear a lot of hum in the headphones and the metronome, but no music.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:10 am

I think Alsamixer was installed but menu won't show it, not even with search. The Jack wiring program I have is Patchage, and looks entirely different.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:14 am

How are you with the command line?

I start alsamixer in a terminal window with

Code: Select all

alsamixer

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:19 am

[img]
68257409_2391952051047063_410759891821527040_n.jpg
[/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:23 am

Running alsamixer from term, I don't see anything wrong except automute, which I disabled, I think, it shows enabled disabled, so I'm not sure.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:28 am

You can see the feedback -- Audio 2/audio_out2 is connected to Audio 2/audio_in1

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:30 am

I may have fixed it, partially, thanks to your screenshot, instructions about feedback. But I don't know if I have it wired right yet, but it is playing now. Let me post another screenshot, just a second.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:32 am

[img]
68257409_2391952051047063_410759891821527040_n.jpg
[/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:35 am

Which playback connection is my front headphone though? 8? what do I connect it to?

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:40 am

Glad you can hear it!

If you want to hear the metronome you could connect Click/audio_out 1 & 2 and to playback_1 & 2. Same for the auditioner.


Return to “Recorders & Sequencers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests