Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by merlyn »

I don't know what to make of the 'audition' example you posted above as I don't use that.

So can you see the tracks you want to hear showing a level in the master channel?

If you can I would check the JACK routing. What do you use to start JACK?

Screenshots could be helpful if you can do that.
Pandemics happen. Vaccinate your children.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by rghvdberg »

Check alsamixer. Maybe your sound card uses separate outputs for headphone and amp.
When you plugin the headphone, the main out is muted. Ardour probably is still sending audio to the headphones.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

with Audition chosen the audio of the track plays and feedback and audition flash on the menu, but the bar doesn't move.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by merlyn »

'Feedback' would suggest there is some routing messed up.

I use Cadence to start JACK, and it has Catia to manage JACK connections :
CatiaPatchbay.png
From that you can see the metronome and the master outs are going to outs 1 and 2. Whatever you use to manage JACK there will be a similar program to manage JACK connections.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Pandemics happen. Vaccinate your children.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by rghvdberg »

Feedback detected : kills all audio.
You've somehow connected an output to it's own input.
Either find the loop (it's hard probably) or start with a clean session.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

I didn't have alsamixer installed, I installed it and chose headphones not muted and I hear a lot of hum in the headphones and the metronome, but no music.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

I think Alsamixer was installed but menu won't show it, not even with search. The Jack wiring program I have is Patchage, and looks entirely different.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by merlyn »

How are you with the command line?

I start alsamixer in a terminal window with

Code: Select all

alsamixer
Pandemics happen. Vaccinate your children.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

[img]
68257409_2391952051047063_410759891821527040_n.jpg
[/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

Running alsamixer from term, I don't see anything wrong except automute, which I disabled, I think, it shows enabled disabled, so I'm not sure.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by merlyn »

You can see the feedback -- Audio 2/audio_out2 is connected to Audio 2/audio_in1
Pandemics happen. Vaccinate your children.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

I may have fixed it, partially, thanks to your screenshot, instructions about feedback. But I don't know if I have it wired right yet, but it is playing now. Let me post another screenshot, just a second.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

[img]
68257409_2391952051047063_410759891821527040_n.jpg
[/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

Which playback connection is my front headphone though? 8? what do I connect it to?

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by merlyn »

Glad you can hear it!

If you want to hear the metronome you could connect Click/audio_out 1 & 2 and to playback_1 & 2. Same for the auditioner.
Pandemics happen. Vaccinate your children.

Post Reply