Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:42 am

Is that a screenshot with the headphones plugged in?

You could use trial and error, play something back and connect to playback_1 to _8 until you hear something.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:45 am

I connected all 8 and will use a process of elimination tomorrow after some sleep. Enabled headphone in alsa mixer and it works.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:50 am

Great!

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:02 am

Thanks for sticking with me on this.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby rghvdberg » Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:35 am

arpegadream wrote:Thanks for sticking with me on this.

We serve the Linux musicians :wink:

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:45 pm

Now I have to see if Rakarrak works in conjunction with Ardour and if I need to "wire it up" in JACK with Patchage, beyond how I already have patchage working with Rakarrak.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:04 pm

I got Rakarrak sort of working with patchage/JACK and Ardour, but when I click FX Off I get horrible feedback. And the effects aren't pronounced enough, almost like wet or dry isn't right but I'm adjusting them still to little effect.

On the headphones, Playback 3-8 being on does nothing, seems that the only way to use the headphones is to have the speakers working too, and turn them down AT the speakers themselves.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:07 pm

But I DO need help with something more exigent to this: When I restart Patchage and Ardour, I have to redo all the settings, Ardour and Patchage don't remember what I've wired them as. HOw do I fix that? It's a PITA to rewire every time, I have to disable all connections inside Ardour and wire up Patchage correctly in order to not have feedback light showing.

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:58 pm

Ardour can manage connections. You don't need Patchage -- that was an easy way to see what was going on.

If you change connections Ardour should save that.

Start with a new project and you shouldn't get feedback. You can import the .wav files you have recorded.

To mange connections in Ardour go to Window > Audio Connections. Ardour uses a matrix format, rather than the wires format of Patchage.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:42 pm

It isn't saving the settings and when it first opens it goes back to feedback issues. Will saving a Template work for this? If so, how do I load the template upon startup?

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:26 pm

arpegadream wrote:It isn't saving the settings and when it first opens it goes back to feedback issues.

I can't imagine a sensible default is to have feedback. Is it always Audio 2 wired to itself?

When I open Ardour a dialogue appears where I can load an existing session or create a new one. If you create a new session and choose 'empty' there should be no feedback.

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:14 pm

Aha, I was choosing recording session, thank you!

arpegadream
Established Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby arpegadream » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:54 pm

I want to express gratitude for all the help folks! Sometimes RTFM does solve everything, but I'll dig in more. Much much thanks!

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby merlyn » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:19 am

And thank you for persevering!

User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Contact:

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Postby Michael Willis » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:41 am

arpegadream wrote:Aha, I was choosing recording session, thank you!

You can save your own template if you would like, see here: http://manual.ardour.org/working-with-s ... -templates


Return to “Recorders & Sequencers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest