Seq64 midi connections

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

roithamer
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:45 pm
Location: Kobernausser forest

Seq64 midi connections

Postby roithamer » Sat Apr 27, 2019 11:34 am

Hello,
New seq64 user here. Great sequencer, I have loads of fun with it, "thank you" to all involved in the project.
I have some question though. Is this normal that seq64 isn't aware of any jack clients that were started after it?
Basically if I start seq64 and THEN zyn-fusion for example, I can't select Zyn as a target for midi "pattern" because Zyn isn't even listed in Seq64's "select midi output bus" menu. Maybe there is some sort of "scan for new jack clients" button I'm not aware of?

Arch Linux
Seq64 0.93.4.r0.gb7ff3be-1 installed via:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/sequencer64-git/

User avatar
milk
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:08 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Seq64 midi connections

Postby milk » Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:10 am

Try starting jack with cadence or qjackctl first, then open sequencer64 then zyn-fusion.
they/them (nb/gq/tg, ta)
wiki.thingsandstuff.org/Audio and related pages - a collection of mostly Linux and free links (OpenID auth for anti-spam, try DW)
Linux Digital Audio and Music Workstation Comparison Matrix - collaborative Google Sheet

roithamer
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:45 pm
Location: Kobernausser forest

Re: Seq64 midi connections

Postby roithamer » Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:53 am

Thank you for the answer. I think I'm doing precisely that.
1. Jack and qjackctl starts with xfce session.
2. I open sequencer64 and it autoconnects to every jack client present at the moment. Like this:
3.png

3. Then I open Zyn, but no connections are made. Sequencer64 doesn't see Zyn.
1.png


If Zyn was started before Sequencer64 then everything is as it should be:
2.jpg



Is this normal behavior? Do I always have to start every program I want to use with Sequencer64 before Sequencer64 itself?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
milk
Established Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:08 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Seq64 midi connections

Postby milk » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:00 pm

ah, the autoconnect ports option currently only words on application start - https://github.com/ahlstromcj/sequencer64/issues/146

the other method is using -m / --manual-alsa-ports which will give 16 virtual ports to use for connections
they/them (nb/gq/tg, ta)
wiki.thingsandstuff.org/Audio and related pages - a collection of mostly Linux and free links (OpenID auth for anti-spam, try DW)
Linux Digital Audio and Music Workstation Comparison Matrix - collaborative Google Sheet

roithamer
Established Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:45 pm
Location: Kobernausser forest

Re: Seq64 midi connections

Postby roithamer » Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:42 pm

Nice workaround. Thank you.


Return to “Recorders & Sequencers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest