[SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

[SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby funkmuscle » Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:29 pm

anyone here got a working version of Ardour-5.5? The build in AUR is no longer there and the git just completely messed me up.
If you have a working PKGBUILD, do you mind sharing?
Last edited by funkmuscle on Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

superprick
Establlshed Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:47 pm

Re: Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby superprick » Mon Dec 26, 2016 5:20 pm

what issue did you have with the git version. i just built it on a new laptop this morning

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby funkmuscle » Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:02 pm

superprick wrote:what issue did you have with the git version. i just built it on a new laptop this morning

They must have made more commits overnight then. For the past 2 days I've completely removed it and installed it again and I kept getting the same version. For example the button that says internal/Jack was not there so I could not sync it to hydrogen. That was the biggest problem I had because I needed to sunc them.. I was able to contact the maintainer of Ardour 5 in AUR and he sent me his PKGBUILD. He didn't know why it was deleted from AUR.

superprick
Establlshed Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:47 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby superprick » Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:34 pm

git version 5.5.29 last commit was 11/29. glad you got a version working for you

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby funkmuscle » Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:59 pm

superprick wrote:git version 5.5.29 last commit was 11/29. glad you got a version working for you


do you see the Internal/Jack button on your version? That is strange if you do. the format at the top looked different also. The Preference button was gone too.

superprick
Establlshed Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:47 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby superprick » Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:28 pm

yes i do see it. looks like paul and company is playing with the ui look uner the ! and audio click metronome. on the top left of the edit window. defaul is Int. click it for jack

superprick
Establlshed Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:47 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby superprick » Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:32 pm

i am really liking the new timeline navigator in the upper right

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby funkmuscle » Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:07 am

superprick wrote:i am really liking the new timeline navigator in the upper right

My too but needed the sync. Hope they add it back.

superprick
Establlshed Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:47 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby superprick » Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:35 am

sync is still there they just moved the button look on the top left of the editor window under the transport control buttons

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby funkmuscle » Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:50 am

superprick wrote:sync is still there they just moved the button look on the top left of the editor window under the transport control buttons

hmmm, I checked so many times. I guess I'll wait for the release.

gimmeapill
Establlshed Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 8:41 am

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby gimmeapill » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:52 am

In case that helps, here's my build archive: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2beUW7nf-nkRGcyUl9mTElHNmM
caveat: I'm building with "-march=native " on an Ivy Bridge CPU, so this may or may not work for you...

User avatar
funkmuscle
Establlshed Member
Posts: 1741
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Arch64 and Ardour-5.5

Postby funkmuscle » Tue Dec 27, 2016 6:34 pm

gimmeapill wrote:In case that helps, here's my build archive: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2beUW7nf-nkRGcyUl9mTElHNmM
caveat: I'm building with "-march=native " on an Ivy Bridge CPU, so this may or may not work for you...

thanx man


Return to “Recorders & Sequencers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest